PDA

View Full Version : A morning off, 13 miles, and a Class III

Ween
11-09-2004, 05:08 AM
Okay, I think I'm on the pulse of what this site wants, what in longs for, what it needs: a fully detailed account of one railfan's journey chasing a local Class III railroad across the plains of Oklahoma!! The railroad in this case is the Hollis & Eastern, which operates over 13 miles of track between Duke, OK (pop. <1000) and Altus, OK.

Thanks to the scheduling gods, I was given the morning off with all training slated for after lunch. I awoke from a dream of when I had easy access to Class I railroads right at 0630. The forecast was for 'Partly Cloudy' (I have a degree in meteorology, and I still don't know what that means!), and when I looked out of my window, it looked a little more overcast than anything. But I figured, "What the heck, I'll head out."