PDA

View Full Version : Jpeg Compression

Chris
07-25-2006, 11:40 AM
Greetings all

I'm quite new to photography so my apologies if this is a tad "noobish" :D

Whenever I take photos, they come out nice and clear when uploaded to my pc. Really good quality.

However when I save them as jpeg, even at the best compression settings, they look poor qaulity.

How do you guys keep the images nice and crisp yet change them to jpeg format?

My camera is a fujifilm F10 6.1 megapixel and I currently use paint shop pro 7 for photo editing.

Many thanks for your assistance.
Chris

ericb
07-25-2006, 01:38 PM
Before editing one of your original Jpegs, open it in psp7 and save it as a tif. I don't have psp7 in front of me but it should be "File" --> "Save as" --> then select tif. After you've edited your tif file, you can then convert it back to Jpeg by saving it as a new file name such as "train1_edited.jpg". The new name will prevent you from overwriting the original Jpeg.
Remember, everytime you open and then save your original Jpeg file it will become more and more compressed, even if you save it at the highest quality setting.

Chris
07-25-2006, 02:57 PM
Just gave it a go and it worked perfectly!

Many thanks for your help
Chris

CNW4404
07-30-2006, 01:44 PM
It's a little easier just to make the edits, then hit "Save As" without going through the TIFF process, isn't it?

ericb
07-30-2006, 11:59 PM
It's a little easier just to make the edits, then hit "Save As" without going through the TIFF process, isn't it?
Yes, but if you plan on editing and saving the image more than once you need to convert the image to a lossless format such as tif so compression artifacts don't keep building up with each edit/resave. Saving and resaving a jpeg over time will make it unusable.

ddavies
08-03-2006, 10:54 AM