PDA

View Full Version : Slide scanning

shaunm71
01-16-2007, 03:14 PM
I have a question that I am sure has been answered here, but I am still struggling with. I have an HP 3570c scanner that I use to scan kodachrome slides. I typically set it at 72 DPI re-size my image to 1024kb x 700 or so, and sharpen the slide using either the extreme or high setting. I seem to consistantly have two reasons for slide rejection. Bad Color: Not enough color depth or too much color saturation (what exactly does this mean and how do I identify it before I send it) or I have an image that still seems blurry. I have had slides that are accepted using the methods stated above. All are properly exposed and properly lit. I have to admit that the scanner is new to me and have so far resisted the gigital age. I feel a bit frustrated since I have been shooting slides for 20 years with great results but am unable to get a decent scan for posting. I am not looking for a print quality scan either. Any ideas? Thanks, Shaun McGinnis

scottychaos
01-16-2007, 03:56 PM
Slides need special color correcting to convert them to acceptable scans..
real slides, the ones you project, are actually quite dark and quite cyan/blue..they are that way on purpose, because they are meant to be projected in a dark room and the "dark and cyan" balance is needed so our eyes see them as "normal" in the dark room..
They look great when projected! We dont "see" them as too dark and too blue when projected, but its really there...so when they are scanned with no correcting, THEN we can see the dark and cyan balance, because we are no longer looking at the scan projected on a wall in a dark room.

Thats why you see a LOT of scans from slides that have a very cyan color cast..
they have not been corrected.
I got yelled at on this forum before for pointing that out! ;)

Did your scanner come with any photo editing software?
If so, it might have a prodedure for correcting slides..
I googled your scanner, and found a review: