PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts and Questions

dns860
07-27-2004, 05:02 PM
It's been kind of a dry spell for my efforts lately. Lots of rejections. I never appeal. I'm new to this hobby. I trust the editors. And I'm proud of those pics of mine they've accepted. (23 so far, if I'm not mistaken.)

I traveled from New York to Georgia and back in the past two weeks, and just one out of 150 photos from the trip made the grade here at railpictures.net. I may have submitted 30 photos out of the total. The other 120 were hopeless. I didn't need any help figuring that out. I'm feeling pretty incompetent, to say the least!

The adventures I've had trying to get good photos were probably more interesting than the pictures I might have actually gotten, had I known what I was doing. Rail photography for me has been a real comedy of errors! I mean, I've tumbled down embankments, run out of battery power deep in the woods, and filled my memory card just when an unusual train appeared. The camera itself derailed photo ops repeatedly. It tends to go into sleep mode at the exact moment a train comes into view.

I'm at fault, too. I've forgotten to take the lens cap off. I let wisps of my own cigarette smoke mar what would have been great photos. I often fail to determine which side of the train is in the sunlight. I forget to set focus, or I change focus inadvertently when I mean to change only the zoom length. There comes a time when one must commit to a shot, when it's too late for any fine tuning. I've missed shots trying to make an adjustments with just seconds to go before a train passes.