RailPictures.Net Forums

RailPictures.Net Forums (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/index.php)
-   Railroad Photography Forum (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Too much compression? (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/showthread.php?t=17393)

StL-rail 02-15-2015 06:20 AM

Too much compression?
 
I'm not really sure what they're seeing...

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...01&key=2465836

I don't use any compression when saving my photos, maybe they were thrown off by the smoke?

Opinions?

miningcamper1 02-15-2015 07:01 AM

The sky blotches will be obvious if you view at 400%. :shock:

CSX1702 02-15-2015 08:23 AM

1 Attachment(s)
It looks good enough to me. I can see some quality/softness issues that may be fixable by sharpening. Also, if you resubmit, you may want to rotate CCW .5 degrees or so.

Quote:

Originally Posted by miningcamper1 (Post 183794)
The sky blotches will be obvious if you view at 400%. :shock:

EDIT: I see what you're saying now. Further proof that they screen on 70 inch Tv's...

Been wanting to make this for awhile now:
https://i.imgflip.com/hnxxw.jpg

RobJor 02-15-2015 01:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by StL-rail (Post 183793)
I'm not really sure what they're seeing...

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...01&key=2465836

I don't use any compression when saving my photos, maybe they were thrown off by the smoke?

Opinions?

I don't see the problem in the sky but for reference whenever your save as a JPG you compress, that is the definition. Any digital camera the original is well in the multiple Mb range. If images are coming out of the camera at around 1 meg then your camera is set at low qualtiy and size, you should be shooting at highest quality or RAW.

Unless you are using some automated method, you get to choose the quality(size) when ou save. The easy way is to go back and save at a higher quality in PS. If you are using some other software that does not give you a choice then that is a problem. You don't want to use something like "Save for the WEB"

I see the image is 1024 while you can now post at 1200 across.
When I save your file , it comes out at 524KB which is a little on the small side. Just a guess also, it may be a crop. where I made a mistake was to save as a smaller jpg and then crop. I think you want to crop the full size image, resize to 1200. You don't want to be saving and reediting a JPG multiple times.

Bob Jordan

StL-rail 02-16-2015 12:03 AM

Got knocked for horizon unlevel this time, but it isn't! I even checked and did a 0.5 CCW rotation before resubmiting. Suggestions? I don't see it... Even the road sign is level...

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...34&key=1154498

JRMDC 02-16-2015 12:10 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RobJor (Post 183796)
When I save your file , it comes out at 524KB which is a little on the small side. Just a guess also, it may be a crop. where I made a mistake was to save as a smaller jpg and then crop. I think you want to crop the full size image, resize to 1200. You don't want to be saving and reediting a JPG multiple times.

Bob Jordan

As info, RP cuts the file size. So for you to get 524K is completely reasonable for a file which was uploaded at maybe around 900k.

StL-rail 02-16-2015 02:55 AM

Meh, rotated it another 0.25 CCW and it got in...

[photoid=519163]


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.