RailPictures.Net Forums

RailPictures.Net Forums (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/index.php)
-   Railroad Photography Forum (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Too much noise (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/showthread.php?t=6444)

Devil 505 01-05-2008 07:30 PM

Too much noise
 
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=242831262
As the title says, this was rejected for too much noise. The only thing done in post processing was to resize and a little bump in the saturation. is it salvageable?

Dave

Ween 01-05-2008 07:40 PM

Was that taken with your XT? It's insanely noisy in the sky...I'm guessing you could try to Neat Image it, but I'd be more concerned over what caused all that noise...

Devil 505 01-05-2008 08:07 PM

That was taken with the XT, thats why I'm a little bit concerned. I see what you are talking about with the sky. I'm hoping its a problem with my editing and not with my camera.

Freericks 01-05-2008 08:50 PM

What was the ISO? If you had it up at 800 or 1600 that would be expected.

Devil 505 01-05-2008 08:57 PM

I just checked my camera and it was shot at 400. It was also a raw file converted to jpeg.

Ween 01-05-2008 10:00 PM

Quote:

It was also a raw file converted to jpeg.
What program did you use to convert it?

Devil 505 01-05-2008 11:16 PM

the cannon software that came with the camera. The Digital Photo Professional program.

JimThias 01-05-2008 11:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Devil 505
the cannon software that came with the camera. The Digital Photo Professional program.

That's what I use, too. Did you do some lightening of the photo? Sometimes if the exposure is dark, the higher ISO's really get exposed when you bump up the levels in photoshop.

Devil 505 01-06-2008 12:42 AM

No, just a bump in the saturation.

Switched out 01-06-2008 01:05 AM

Check the level of sharpening that has been applied, as the ISO gets higher the more likely the sharpening feature of the software package will mistake noise as detail that should be enhanced. I think this is what has happened to your picture Dave.

Christine.

Devil 505 01-06-2008 01:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Switched out
Check the level of sharpening that has been applied, as the ISO gets higher the more likely the sharpening feature of the software package will mistake noise as detail that should be enhanced. I think this is what has happened to your picture Dave.

Christine.

Thanks, I'll give that a shot.

John Ryan 01-06-2008 02:44 AM

Yikes! That doesn't look right!

I think the noise that we're seeing is part of the general total oversharpening. It would be interesting to take a look at the original RAW file.

Chicago Railfan 01-06-2008 05:21 AM

It is to far, it is to sharp, and due to it being to sharp, it is to grainy too. Or, your ISO was just set to high.

Joey Bowman 01-06-2008 04:25 PM

400 ISO on the XT does get a little noisy at times, plus the fact that it looks over sharpened.

Bicot 01-07-2008 12:10 AM

I'd go with the software used to sharpen the picture; there's no way you'd have that much noise at ISO 400 from a DSLR unless you cropped like hell :-(

Devil 505 01-07-2008 02:55 AM

That's what I'm confused about. I didn't sharpen the picture at all and I cropped just a little from the right side to get it to the correct aspect ratio. The pic got canned for underexposed, too much compression and too much noise again so I'll let it go.

John Ryan 01-07-2008 03:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Devil 505
That's what I'm confused about. I didn't sharpen the picture at all and I cropped just a little from the right side to get it to the correct aspect ratio. The pic got canned for underexposed, too much compression and too much noise again so I'll let it go.

I'm very curious about this issue. If you'd care to, kindly email me your original RAW file. Me email address is the same as my AIM screen name listed in my profile on this forum.

John Ryan 01-07-2008 04:44 AM

Dave,

The good news is that there isn't a single thing wrong with your camera or your RAW file. I opened up the shot and it was as smooth as any Canon ISO 400 shot that I've ever seen.

That leads me to believe that there is some sort of setting (sharpening, etc.) in your RAW conversion software that is set somewhere it shouldn't be. Digital Photo Professional is somewhat questionable. I got it with my camera, and used it only until Photoshop came out with an update that supported the files generated by my camera. At the very least, I'd suggest you play around with the settings in DPP. Remember, it's a RAW file; you can't break it. If that doesn't work, I'd look into a different RAW conversion program.

http://homepage.mac.com/allegheny/ogr/iona.jpg


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.