RailPictures.Net Forums

RailPictures.Net Forums (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/index.php)
-   Digital Photo Processing Forum (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Adobe tests DOUBLING price (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/showthread.php?t=18237)

Mgoldman 05-02-2019 06:33 PM

Adobe tests DOUBLING price
 
Sure, why not?

Nothing like a captive audience.

https://www.theverge.com/2019/5/2/18...lan-price-hike

/Mitch

KevinM 05-02-2019 11:53 PM

Which is why I bought the last version of Lightroom that was standalone.......

Never trust anyone who expects you to pay for a subscription for life. They set the hook with what seems to be a reasonable price, and then you get hit with an increase every year forever......just like cable TV. :)

I think folks should look for other solutions than Adobe. Like Facebook and lots of other companies, they need to learn that they don't own us. :wink:

bigbassloyd 05-03-2019 04:08 PM

I'm going to be a crossroads when my current laptop dies and I won't be able to continue using Elements 12 and CS6 anymore. I refuse to pay monthly for adobe, but I do enjoy what elements / ps offered.

Loyd L.

miningcamper1 05-03-2019 10:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigbassloyd (Post 195442)
I'm going to be a crossroads when my current laptop dies and I won't be able to continue using Elements 12 and CS6 anymore. I refuse to pay monthly for adobe, but I do enjoy what elements / ps offered.

Loyd L.

???
You can't store Elements 12 and CS6 by some means so you can load them onto your next computer?

Moffat Road 05-03-2019 10:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by miningcamper1 (Post 195447)
???
You can't store Elements 12 and CS6 by some means so you can load them onto your next computer?

I hope Loyd doesnít mind me answering, but a new computerís operating system doesnít always run older programs. In my case, Iím still on CS3 and my newer computerís OS is about the last one to be able to run it.

Mike D.

bigbassloyd 05-03-2019 11:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by miningcamper1 (Post 195447)
???
You can't store Elements 12 and CS6 by some means so you can load them onto your next computer?

Sure. I have them both in storage along with CS2, and CS3. Does that mean they will be usable? Nope. :)

I could install CS2, but since the activation server for it has been down for years, moot point :D

Elements 12 is notoriously difficult to configure to run properly on a post 2017 Win 10 Opsys. I've been tinkering with it at work on our Win 10 test box without much luck. Yes, we have a windows 10 test computer because medical facilities generally do not switch opsys like the consumer world forces users to. Windows 7 is also what I continue to run at home. A sad day is coming on 1/14/20.

Loyd L.

railfanzone 05-04-2019 12:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigbassloyd (Post 195453)
I could install CS2, but since the activation server for it has been down for years, moot point :D

Loyd L.

Eh, works fine for me. Installed CS2 on Windows 10. It's a bit klunky on 10, but it works for what I need it to do. Just follow the directions in this Adobe KB article - they have an installer version that does not require activation.

https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-sui...-end-life.html

bigbassloyd 05-04-2019 02:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by railfanzone (Post 195455)
Eh, works fine for me. Installed CS2 on Windows 10. It's a bit klunky on 10, but it works for what I need it to do. Just follow the directions in this Adobe KB article - they have an installer version that does not require activation.

https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-sui...-end-life.html

Yes Tom, but I was referencing his comment as to why I couldn't just store the disc / installation and use it later. You cannot use the as purchased cs2 files and install them now. :)

Loyd L.

railfanzone 05-04-2019 06:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigbassloyd (Post 195462)
Yes Tom, but I was referencing his comment as to why I couldn't just store the disc / installation and use it later. You cannot use the as purchased cs2 files and install them now. :)

Loyd L.

Ahh, ok...got ya...guess I need to go back to remedial reading :)

Grewup on the CW 05-13-2019 10:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigbassloyd (Post 195453)
S..........Windows 7 is also what I continue to run at home. A sad day is coming on 1/14/20.

Loyd L.

I'm in the same boat. Gonna cost me a pile $$$$$$ to upgrade ALL my work software, plus a new laptop/OS just so I can stay ahead of the hackers.
Win 7 Pro is the most stable/user friendly version I've ever used (I've used them all since version 1.0) and once again I gotta move up just because new looks sells......


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.