RailPictures.Net Forums

RailPictures.Net Forums (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/index.php)
-   Railroad Photography Forum (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Saving a razor sharp image for upload to RP (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/showthread.php?t=8336)

BarrySr 09-27-2008 06:24 PM

Saving a razor sharp image for upload to RP
 
OK, so I've got a Canon XSi that takes razor sharp RAW images, but when I save for web for upload, the results look like a darn 5 year old took it!

OK, I'm am idiot, Help?!

All slides I've scanned come in sharp....

BarrySr
Kingwood, TX

KevinM 09-27-2008 07:14 PM

Hey Barry,

Do you sharpen again after resizing? Sometimes a light sharpening pass on the downsized image will do the trick. It works for me!

asis80 09-27-2008 10:23 PM

You MUST, must must must, do a sharpen after you resize. When you resize you lose "information" within the photo, and ironically RAW is pure information which can be altered, by in this case, DPP. When you lose "information" (in JPG terms, pixels) sharpening kinda "buffs" it up and gives it that new car look! lol But do NOT sharpen too much, search around here for a few good threads about sharpening.

Ben

Watain 09-28-2008 12:00 AM

I always tend to over sharpen a little before I upload, it seems sometimes that images loose some sharpness in the upload. Could just be me.

Originally rejected for Undersharpend. And one of my first shots in RAW. I used Lightroom to sharpen, and then again with the tool in Elements. The Quantaray lens I'm using seems to be just a tad soft at 300mm.

[photoid=251716]

WembYard 09-28-2008 08:01 AM

I never use the "save for web" option, always re-size manually and use "save as" - renaming the file if necessary.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.