RailPictures.Net Forums

RailPictures.Net Forums (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/index.php)
-   Railroad Photography Forum (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   JPEG Compression (http://www.railpictures.net/forums/showthread.php?t=9998)

Doug Wolfe 06-16-2009 01:15 PM

JPEG Compression
 
Rejected for too much jpeg compression:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=396268026

Should I be able to see the compression problem? In other words, if I could see it I would not submit it to begin with and would rework it. What exactly am I looking for?

A while back I had some compression problems but have had some accepted since then. Now the problem is back.

I have used different camera's so my problem appears to be in my processing efforts. I am technology illiterate at age 53 and depend on a 12 year old as my technical adviser so any help is always appreciated. I use PS Elements 6.

Thanks in advance!

gbrozny 06-16-2009 05:12 PM

Take a look at and above the number boards and on the nose on the NS engine, that is where it appears to be the worse, though I also see some compression artifacts in the background objects.

Doug Wolfe 06-16-2009 05:24 PM

Yes, you are right.

Ok....that is what I needed to know.

Thanks!

Walter S 06-16-2009 05:34 PM

When you save in PSE, do you resize and then save in the highest quality setting?

Doug Wolfe 06-17-2009 01:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Walter S (Post 92264)
When you save in PSE, do you resize and then save in the highest quality setting?

Hi Walter. Yes. My college aged son thinks I am moving the pictures in jpeg format from the camera to PSE...instead of another format and then later converting to jpeg. He thinks I am losing quality there.

I will go out and shoot some additional pictures and have him take a look at what I am doing. Thank you!


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.