Old 04-27-2012, 03:58 AM   #1
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10,649
Default PSE 9 - change the color balance

Jim's question, along with Paolo's night shot color issue in the main forum here, remind me that there is something I don't know, I don't know how to change color balance in PSE. I can do it in raw conversion easily enough, of course, but if I start from a jpg, how do I go about it. I have mostly been using Enhance\Adjust Color\Color Variations, and some of Enhance\Adjust Color\Remove Color Cast.

Are there better ways? I'm too cheap for full PS. Actually, that isn't me being cheap, that is PS being expensive!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:36 PM   #2
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,414
Default

when you go to open a file, there's a box in the lower left side that says something like "open file as" or something. Choose "camera raw." that opens up a screen that allows you to do various useful things. I do this every time I use PSE.
__________________
Now with Flickr!
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 04:18 PM   #3
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 10,649
Default

I don't see that, but I see \File\Open As and then choose camera raw, which does allow one to open a jpg and get to the same place. Thanks!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 06:19 PM   #4
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
I see \File\Open As and then choose camera raw, which does allow one to open a jpg and get to the same place.
I swear that is what I just said.

Anyway, I hope you got it figured out. Let me know if you have problems.
__________________
Now with Flickr!
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.