Old 05-30-2009, 03:56 AM   #1
Alan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: W.Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 66
Default question about scanners in cars

Can anyone tell me about the legality of having a scanner in your car. I had heard years ago that it was illegal to have a scanner in your car. However, I thought I had heard something recently that they changed the law and now it is okay to have a scanner in your car. Can anyone clarify this for me. Thanks
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 04:04 AM   #2
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

Different states have different laws.

Depends where you are.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 04:22 AM   #3
Alan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: W.Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 66
Default

I live in Michigan.
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 06:50 AM   #4
cblaz
Senior Member
 
cblaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Marlboro, New Jersey
Posts: 1,007
Default

Scanner use without an FCC license or permission is illegal in Florida, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota and New York. More info here: http://www.afn.org/~afn09444/scanlaws/scanner5.html

Bottom line: Be discreet (ie. don't speed) and don't get caught.

- Chris
__________________
- Christopher Blaszczyk
My shots on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=284
cblaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 11:07 PM   #5
Nscalemike
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 82
Send a message via AIM to Nscalemike
Default

Get a ham license....that would solve your problem in MI.
Nscalemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:39 AM   #6
chuckman
Senior Member
 
chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Western New York
Posts: 294
Default

How do you get a ham liscense?
chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 10:49 PM   #7
Red Granite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckman View Post
How do you get a ham license?
Visit the American Radio Relay League site. They have an FAQ section on the Licensing page - "Technician Class License" is the entry-level certification.
Red Granite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:52 AM   #8
BarrySr
Senior Member
 
BarrySr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Arlington, Tx.; home of the Texas Chokers
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to BarrySr
Thumbs up

Yes, get your technician's license. It's not that difficult. I was REALLY surprised with how relatively easy it was.

Upgrading to General is a little tougher, though...
__________________
BarrySr
KE5YYR


"I dug 'dem boats when diggin' em wasn't cool"


"Why are the crazy people so enamorate of all things EMD?" [Holloran Grade]

____________________

View My Photos on Railpictures.net
BarrySr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.