Old 07-04-2008, 06:07 AM   #1
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default CS3 Color Profiles

I have been trying to tweak CS3 for awhile now but I can't seem to find my problem. I am thinking someone else here on the forums might had had a similar problem and can point out what is wrong with my settings. I recently started shooting 100% RAW. When I edit my photo in CS3 and preview it in CS3 or Windows Picture and Fax Viewer it is the way I want it. However, when I upload to RP.net or send through direct connection on AIM it looks different. The notable differences are saturation and contrast. I believe it has something to do with preserving embedded profiles of images that are opened in CS3.

I attached an example. It is the exact same file opened in Firefox and CS3.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amtrak.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	280.3 KB
ID:	3025  
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 05:14 PM   #2
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Are you editing in Adobe RGB or sRGB?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 05:55 PM   #3
TAMR159
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 367
Default

The issue is that Railpictures.net and many other websites work strictly in the sRGB color profile, and I'm guessing you (like myself and others on here) are working in the Adobe RGB color profile. The easy solution is to go to Edit > Convert To Color Profile, and select the sRGB profile (do NOT go to Assign Color Profile, as that will have the same effect as uploading here).

I did tell Chris Kilroy about this issue, and it looks like he has a solution in the works (basically detecting the color profile from the EXIF data and proceeding accordingly).
TAMR159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2008, 06:07 PM   #4
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

For RP, I use sRGB, but when making prints, it's Adobe RGB...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 06:57 AM   #5
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default

I understand working with different color profiles and assigning them to images, however, when I take a photo with my camera in .jpg, edit it, and upload there is no problem. The problem comes when I am shooting RAW. I make all the necessary RAW adjustments when I open the image in CS3, I then make corrections with all of the standard CS3 tools. The images come out great on my computer but when they are viewed outside of their color profile they look like crap. After making adjustments in RAW and opening in CS3 it is easy to assign a color profile but then I loose everything I adjusted in RAW, essentially making RAW useless...

Thoughts?
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 05:44 PM   #6
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
I make all the necessary RAW adjustments when I open the image in CS3, I then make corrections with all of the standard CS3 tools.
How are you making your RAW adjustments, what program?

I open my RAW in CS2 and tinker with it there, but the default color profile is Adobe RGB. I have to switch to sRGB before saving as a TIF.

Maybe try saving the TIF from the RAW as sRGB before editing in CS3?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 06:29 PM   #7
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween
How are you making your RAW adjustments, what program?

I open my RAW in CS2 and tinker with it there, but the default color profile is Adobe RGB. I have to switch to sRGB before saving as a TIF.

Maybe try saving the TIF from the RAW as sRGB before editing in CS3?
I open the RAW file in CS3 to make the adjustments (Camera Raw4.2). I then click Open Image and the file is then opened in the standard CS3 window.

This is where the problem is. THEN I have to change the color profile. AFTER the RAW settings have been modified. Changing the color profile at this point changes the image. (This makes shooting the RAW image useless)
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 06:44 PM   #8
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

There's no option in CS3/Camera Raw 4.2 to adjust the color profile there?

Does my previous suggestion (save as from Camera Raw to TIF and then open in CS3) work?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 07:27 PM   #9
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default

Found it. Right on the bottom in the dead center is a place to change the color profile. It does not appear that you can click it to change it but you can. Thanks.
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2008, 07:31 PM   #10
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Hope that fixes the problem...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 07:07 PM   #11
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

I have noticed the same thing. I think it has to do with what adjustments are made with camera raw because some images come out with no difference and others look way off after uploading. Let us know.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 08:37 PM   #12
JBCagle7073
Alpha Phi Psi
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to JBCagle7073
Default

You have to remember that each camera maker makes their raw format propriatary. There has been some talk of standardizing the format, but I doubt it will ever happen. If problems continue it could be a problem with the way CS3 is converting the color profile from raw. Although it would add an extra step you could do raw edits in the propriatary raw software from your camera maker and then go to work in CS3.
__________________
Duty is the most sublime word in our language. Do your duty in all things. You cannot do more. You should never wish to do less.- Robert E. Lee
JBCagle7073 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.