Old 05-02-2008, 04:24 PM   #1
Northern Limits
Senior Member
 
Northern Limits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 611
Default Too Dark?

I resubmitted this picture, but when it came out on the data base it looked a lot darker than what I submitted.
When I checked it on another computer it looked OK.
How are you seeing it? Are the shadows too dark? Too much contrast?
Image © Jim Dorst
PhotoID: 229494
Photograph © Jim Dorst


I'm thinking of resubmitting again.
__________________
Cheers, Jim.


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 05:14 PM   #2
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

I have two displays setup on my desk now, and it looks way too dark on the one that I trust. It looks perfect on my display that is too bright though.

It wouldn't hurt to resubmit a lighter version... it doesn't need too much tough, just enough to get that truck detail to pop out.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 05:25 PM   #3
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,191
Default

I would consider using a channel mixer to do the BW and get a more interesting mix of grays, or if you used one, maybe try again. I think the conversion is a little flat and uninteresting.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 07:24 PM   #4
Rich K
Senior Member
 
Rich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 257
Default

Looks a bit too dark to me, with a lack of shadow detail.
__________________
Rich K

Webmaster of The Railfan Gallery

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.net
Rich K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 09:06 PM   #5
Northern Limits
Senior Member
 
Northern Limits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
I would consider using a channel mixer to do the BW and get a more interesting mix of grays, or if you used one, maybe try again. I think the conversion is a little flat and uninteresting.
J,

I know what a channel mixer is on a sound board, but I've never used one in PS.
Where, or how do I find it? ... Well I s'pose I could look in my guide book
__________________
Cheers, Jim.


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 01:17 AM   #6
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Limits
J,

I know what a channel mixer is on a sound board, but I've never used one in PS.
Where, or how do I find it? ... Well I s'pose I could look in my guide book
In PSE3 there is a free add-in on the web, also PSE4. PSE6 and maybe PSE5 have it as part of the product, from what I recall. I presume that PS CS in it various forms has it but I have never used the full PS. If you have a non-adobe product I can help you even less than I have helped you here.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 01:25 AM   #7
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Limits
J,

I know what a channel mixer is on a sound board, but I've never used one in PS.
Where, or how do I find it? ... Well I s'pose I could look in my guide book
In my PS7, it's under: Image > Adjustments > Channel Mixer

Once you get that window open, click on the Monochrome box and then fiddle with each of the red, green and blue sliders. I'm not sure how it is on newer versions of PS, but on 7 it's automatically defaulted to red at 100% and green and blue at 0. Often times what I'll do is simply convert two or three different layers, one with red at 100%, then blue at 100% with red and green at 0, and then green at 100% with red and blue at 0. I then have three different monochrome layers to compare, and judging from how each look, I might combine certain areas of each, or just stick to one. Red seems to usually look most proper, but often times blue or green have a nice effect on various parts of a scene.

The possibilities are endless...fiddle around with it and see what appeals to you the most. After a while, you will notice time suddenly goes by quickly without even realizing it.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 02:11 AM   #8
Northern Limits
Senior Member
 
Northern Limits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 611
Default

Thanks for the directions. I'll take a look around PS.
On this particular photo it was quite peculiar.
Every time I would open it in PS and it looked just fine. However, when I saved it the resulting picture would look much darker in the My Pictures display (which is what got sent to RP). Can't figure that one out.
So I opened it and edited it with the Arc Soft Photo Studio from Canon. It had grayscale adjustment for highlights, midtones, and shadows. Best of all - it didn't save 20% darker.
You are now seeing the re-submitted photo.
Image © Jim Dorst
PhotoID: 229494
Photograph © Jim Dorst
__________________
Cheers, Jim.


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

Last edited by Northern Limits; 05-03-2008 at 02:13 AM.
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 06:23 AM   #9
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Limits
Thanks for the directions. I'll take a look around PS.
On this particular photo it was quite peculiar.
Every time I would open it in PS and it looked just fine. However, when I saved it the resulting picture would look much darker in the My Pictures display (which is what got sent to RP). Can't figure that one out.
That is just the opposite of what happens to me. Quite often when I upload a pic to the web, whether it be RP or photobucket or whatever, the image viewed online looks a bit washed out compared to how it looks when viewed in photoshop. In fact, if I download a picture from the web and open it in photoshop, it looks MUCH richer in PS than how I see it on the web. I don't quite understand that and no one seems to have a logical answer as to why that happens. I see it like that on both of my computers, so I know it's not just an isolated thing on one computer & monitor.

Quite often when I upload a pic, after seeing it on the web, I have to go back to photoshop and darken it a little so it doesn't look so washed out. Kind of annoyance, but it's something I've gotten used to.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 12:23 PM   #10
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,191
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
That is just the opposite of what happens to me. Quite often when I upload a pic to the web, whether it be RP or photobucket or whatever, the image viewed online looks a bit washed out compared to how it looks when viewed in photoshop. In fact, if I download a picture from the web and open it in photoshop, it looks MUCH richer in PS than how I see it on the web. I don't quite understand that and no one seems to have a logical answer as to why that happens. I see it like that on both of my computers, so I know it's not just an isolated thing on one computer & monitor.

Quite often when I upload a pic, after seeing it on the web, I have to go back to photoshop and darken it a little so it doesn't look so washed out. Kind of annoyance, but it's something I've gotten used to.
Any chance this has something to do with AdobeRGB vs. sRGB? I've never taken the time to understand the difference or what settings affect it. It's always on my to do list but always well down, given that however things are set up on my computers, they work for me.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 08:17 PM   #11
MILWfan
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 52
Default

To me it looks extremely oversharpend
__________________
Milwaukee Road fan
Canon 400D
MILWfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 01:20 AM   #12
Clockwise_Corn
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern Limits
I resubmitted this picture, but when it came out on the data base it looked a lot darker than what I submitted.
When I checked it on another computer it looked OK.
How are you seeing it? Are the shadows too dark? Too much contrast?
Image © Jim Dorst
PhotoID: 229494
Photograph © Jim Dorst


I'm thinking of resubmitting again.
You're lucky to have gotten it accepted. I think its great as is.
Clockwise_Corn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 03:50 AM   #13
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Any chance this has something to do with AdobeRGB vs. sRGB? I've never taken the time to understand the difference or what settings affect it. It's always on my to do list but always well down, given that however things are set up on my computers, they work for me.
There is a good example of the difference between a picture with and without an sRGB HERE . Unfortunately, the accompanying magazine article is not on-line.
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 03:55 AM   #14
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,690
Default

Thanks for the link, Janet. That is very close to what I see happening with my images. I'm no photoshop expert, so I'm not sure how to achieve what they imply in the description of that photo. Anyone know the steps that they most likely listed in the magazine article that isn't there?
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2008, 09:41 PM   #15
Northern Limits
Senior Member
 
Northern Limits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
Thanks for the link, Janet. That is very close to what I see happening with my images. I'm no photoshop expert, so I'm not sure how to achieve what they imply in the description of that photo. Anyone know the steps that they most likely listed in the magazine article that isn't there?
In PSE 4 under Edit>Color Settings ... then a dialogue box will open up. See what color profile setting is checked
Mine was set for "print". I just changed it to "let me choose".
__________________
Cheers, Jim.


Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 03:42 AM   #16
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Default

I have dug out a copy of the magazine

To try and be brief (and bear in mind that the article was written three years ago)........

Most digital cameras will automatically embed an sRGB profile, but many of the 'high end' digital cameras can be set to embed an optional 'Adobe RGB' colour profile (looking at a Canon 350D, it has this option buried away in the menu).

Basically when editing pictures for web use, you should check that sRGB is the chosen colour space under Edit > Color settings, also I note that when doing "save as" in PSE5 there is a box to check for the ICC profile, which will tell you what colour profile the image is being saved with.

I hope this makes sense!
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.