Old 08-05-2005, 04:22 AM   #1
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default Bad Cropping?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=152493
Usually I can figure out what's wrong with the photo and I can fix it, but I'm a bit confused here on what needs cropping..

Last edited by Cyclonetrain; 08-05-2005 at 05:18 AM.
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 05:36 AM   #2
trainmonster
Senior Member
 
trainmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Pa.
Posts: 378
Default

Neat photo-I'd crop out the pole/trees to the left.

Rich
trainmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 01:00 PM   #3
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 799
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default

Agree, if you have enough on the original photo of the right side. Try to center the signal bridge on the frame. Since that is the most stationary subject of interest.

The tree and pole don't do anything for the aesthetic qualities anyways.
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 01:53 PM   #4
ssw9662
Senior Member
 
ssw9662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 839
Default

I agree, crop out that unsightly pole on the left side, and you're all set.
__________________
Austin
Canon EOS 7D
Canon 70-200mm f/4 L
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8
My Railpictures.net Photos
flickr
ssw9662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 06:47 PM   #5
Guilford350
Senior Member
 
Guilford350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Terryville, CT
Posts: 542
Default

Accepted! - http://www.railpictures.net/viewphoto.php?id=114545
Guilford350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 11:33 PM   #6
mtrails
Senior Member
 
mtrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 249
Default

I was a little early on the shutter with this one, but being rejected for bad cropping, I wonder if there is a suitable crop for this instance? Which loco should be more in the shot, or is the vertical cropping more of an issue?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=152913

Thanks.
mtrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 03:19 AM   #7
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 799
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default Tricky one

That's a tricky one, maybe cropping some more off the EMD Oakway unit, that'll allow you to bring down the vertical cropping.

Do you have the second unit of the warbonnet's train in the original? The whole engine I mean? That would help this alot.

I attached a slightly different crop of it to show you where my mind is.
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 05:59 AM   #8
mtrails
Senior Member
 
mtrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 249
Default I'll give it another shot

Unfortunately, no, the original left margin is as you see it. I had three problems with this location:

1. I was right next to a pole on my right.
2. If the camera was angled any more to the left, a pole with a few grounding cables would have been a distraction.
3. I didn't want to get any closer to the tracks, for obvious reasons.

I also didn't expect the passing train to be flying by at 55 Mph. I'll have to train my trigger finger for the quicker movers!

EDIT: I forgot to thank you for your reply.

Last edited by mtrails; 08-08-2005 at 06:00 AM. Reason: Thank you
mtrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:17 PM   #9
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 799
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default

No problem, I like to help out when possible.

If your camera has a multiple shoot option, that's probably a good function to equip. Normally when I take my photos, I press the release and hold it down, allowing to take as many pics necessary until the trains pass me.

Then I normally review the images, and I delete the ones I don't like, and keep only the ones I think are the way I want them. Thus saving space on the memory card, but ensuring that I capture as many frames as possible.
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 12:41 PM   #10
mtrails
Senior Member
 
mtrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 249
Default Multiple frames

My Hewlett Packard is pretty limited, and that's one of many features it doesn't have. What camera do you shoot with?
mtrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 07:38 PM   #11
hoydie17
We Own The Night...
 
hoydie17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 799
Send a message via AIM to hoydie17 Send a message via Yahoo to hoydie17
Default Cam

I shoot with a Nikon D70 DSLR, generally I only use the kit lens (18-70mm)that comes with it. Although I do have a 80-300mm telephoto lens.

But I also take pains to make sure that I take the photo at a wide enough angle to get some scenery. It has a 6.1 MP resolution, so with that, even a shot that looks "too far away" comes in really good when cropped and blown up a little.

I'm the type that likes to take in the scenery on my train shots. Although I'm quite guilty of zooming into "nosehair" range from time to time. But I can see where you were trying to go in the above pic.
__________________
See my work on FLICKR: Night Stalker Photo Works on FLICKR

Or if you want to see my work here at RP.net? Click here.

"It's just a damn train son!"
hoydie17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.