Old 05-25-2010, 07:22 AM   #1
Fitz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default Question About A Rejected Picture

Ok so the reason given for rejection on this shot is that its Horizon Unlevel which I understand what they are refering too. But in all honesty I can not see which way its unlevel to appropriatly adjust the shot. I was hoping a fresh eye could identify the problem.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1206707198

Your help is appreciated

Thank You
Fitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:49 AM   #2
Chris Z
Senior Member
 
Chris Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Libertyville, Il
Posts: 937
Send a message via Skype™ to Chris Z
Default

It's leaning a lot to the right. Needs CCW rotation.

Chris Z
Chris Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
MichaelJ
The Photo Journalist
 
MichaelJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 630
Default

About 1.25' I reckon.
__________________
My portfolio at RailPictures.Net!
My portfolio at Flickr!

The views expressed in this reply are personal and do not represent the views or policy of my employer.
MichaelJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:16 PM   #4
N. Herring
Senior Member
 
N. Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 215
Default

look at the pole sticking up behind the locomotive you can see it is leaning.

Also rework you color the orange looks extremely blown out to me, what software do you use for processing?
N. Herring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:40 PM   #5
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

It's also soft, color needs help too. And what is with those wires or cables in the background?
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 03:41 PM   #6
mSummers
Member
 
mSummers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 84
Default

Don't level based on telephone poles because they're never level themselves. Pick something that should be vertical near the center of the image and level based on that. In this case it needs CCW rotation
__________________
-Michael

My RP.Net Photos

My Photo Galleries
mSummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 06:43 PM   #7
Fitz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Thank you all I'll mess with it for a while and see what I can do. I'm really having trouble seeing the unlevelness since the train is not on level ground.
Fitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:32 PM   #8
Fitz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N. Herring View Post
look at the pole sticking up behind the locomotive you can see it is leaning.

Also rework you color the orange looks extremely blown out to me, what software do you use for processing?
Ok thanks well unfortunatly I do not currently have a good editing software at all. I am currently only have the Cannon software that came with my Cannon its like Zoom Browser Ex I think. I also use the software that came with my Nikon D90 which is also quite watered down. I can adjust saturation hue and brightness and thats about it really. As for CCW rotation I think I'm SOL. I only work March through October so during the winter I have to budget for school and therfore have little money to spare. Do you have any software suggestions that are affordable as money is low right now.
Fitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:34 PM   #9
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Irfanview or Gimp.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 07:39 PM   #10
mSummers
Member
 
mSummers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 84
Default

Since you are a student, you qualify for Adobe's academic pricing. You can get a copy of Photoshop for a fraction of the regular cost, so it might be worth saving up for.
__________________
-Michael

My RP.Net Photos

My Photo Galleries
mSummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 09:34 PM   #11
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mSummers View Post
Since you are a student, you qualify for Adobe's academic pricing. You can get a copy of Photoshop for a fraction of the regular cost, so it might be worth saving up for.
Or they may have some computers with Photoshop in the computer lab. When I went to college the only computers we had were all unix terminals and a couple DOS PC's, but when my brother went to school several years later they had really nice computers with programs like Matlab, Photoshop (ver 4, which was current at the time), quatro pro, MS Office Suite, internet, etc.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 12:04 AM   #12
Fitz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mSummers View Post
Since you are a student, you qualify for Adobe's academic pricing. You can get a copy of Photoshop for a fraction of the regular cost, so it might be worth saving up for.
Ok thank youdo ou have any idea how much or wear I could fing the acedemic pricing on it. As long as I can get school and snowboarding next winter covered I'll gladly put the rest into a software as good as Adobe Phoyoshop.
Fitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 12:05 AM   #13
Fitz
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40 View Post
Irfanview or Gimp.
Thank You ll have to chek those out.
Fitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:25 PM   #14
mSummers
Member
 
mSummers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fitz View Post
Ok thank youdo ou have any idea how much or wear I could fing the acedemic pricing on it. As long as I can get school and snowboarding next winter covered I'll gladly put the rest into a software as good as Adobe Phoyoshop.

Here's Adobe's academic pricing page:

http://www.adobe.com/education/purch...n_pricing.html

and the education purchasing eligibility page which tells you what proof you need to give to qualify for the academic pricing:

http://www.adobe.com/education/purchasing/qualify.html
__________________
-Michael

My RP.Net Photos

My Photo Galleries
mSummers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 04:34 PM   #15
wds
Senior Member
 
wds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 793
Default

I'm sure you can do much better than those academic prices in that list. I picked up Elements 8 (PS & Premiere) at Costco the other day for $79.99 CAN 'cuz my old PSE 5 disk had a crack in it and wouldn't load onto a new computer. I figure you should be able to find it in the US (assuming that's your location) for closer to 60 bucks at Wallymart or the like. One could easily drop that much at the bar in a night! Definitely worth snooping around for.
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
wds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 08:53 PM   #16
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

You can get it for free if you know where to look and dont have any morals
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 05:45 AM   #17
Cranky
Junior Member
 
Cranky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
You can get it for free if you know where to look and dont have any morals

Now that is what a MMORPG noob would write
Cranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.