Old 04-12-2008, 08:44 PM   #1
murph_34a

Default Poor Image Quality Rejection Advice

I recently had this one rejected for poor image quality, I waited a while and took another look at it and I just don't see it.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...0&key=15255051

I'm not calling the screeners liars, I just wanted to get the advice of the forum because I'm sure there's something you all will see that I just don't know to look for. After all, I'm still learning. I have had this shot rejected for just about every fixable reason in the book, first undersharpened, then too much noise, then over sharpened (all of which I do see), so I started over from scratch and got the poor image quality. Any advice on how to fix it up or do I just move on? It's not too special of a shot, but it's one that I like so I'd like to get it on. Thanks for your help!

Here's the other rejections in case you wish to see...
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=710731229
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=508860&key=0
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=270431100
murph_34a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 10:16 PM   #2
Joe the Photog
A dude with a camera

Hi, Ryan;

Something seems off about the shot that I can't put my finger on. Is this a crop down from the original size I see you use the Rebel XT. What lens did you use? Can you share you EXIF data?

Joe
Old 04-12-2008, 11:41 PM   #3
Northern Limits

Low light, in this case early morning can cause things to look grainy/noisy. This one was also taken at ISO 400, therefore more noise issues.
Try starting with a noise reduction and white balance adjustment before other adjustments and sharpening.

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Northern Limits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 11:55 PM   #4
ottergoose
American Gunzel

Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose

I agree w/ the advice already given.

ISO 400 + too much sharpening = bad times.