Old 04-27-2011, 08:01 PM   #1
crazytiger
Senior Member
 
crazytiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NS Greenville District
Posts: 1,473
Default Tripods???

So, today I started looking at tripods and I don't really know what to look for except that it must be a Manfrotto. I saw the 055CX3 and that looked good, but I have no clue what type of head I'll want.
__________________
Be governed accordingly,

PFL
crazytiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:23 PM   #2
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

I use a Manfrotto o55xproB with a RRS BH-55 head.

It is a sturdy, heavy duty tripod. It's aluminum and big and fairly heavy. It kind of sucks dragging it + 20 pounds of gear in an backpack for miles and miles, in that regard I wish I had one of those carbon fiber ones sometimes, but I think my money is better spent. I bought it used.

I have the original Manfrotto head and lots of QR plates if you can find a good deal on just the tripod and need a head. Let me know...
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:36 PM   #3
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Thats not a bad buy and tripod.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:42 PM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Tripod heads are a matter of personal taste. Some things to thing about:

ball head - I like them, I use one, the motion in infinite directions may take a bit of getting used to. I think mine is a Manfrotto 496RC2, but I don't remember for sure.

3-way head - you separately adjust each of the three dimensions, rather than all at once as a ball head. Much easier and more accurate to use on a pan shot, as you lock down two dimensions and swivel on the third.

pistol grip ball head - a regular ball head has a knob you loosen and then move the camera, a pistol grip, you squeeze the grip and it loosens and adjust

there are probably other kinds, but those are the ones I am familiar with. I originally had a 2-way head with tilt - you could move the nose up and down, and rotate as in a pan, and then you could flop it sideways to get into a vertical. I then tried some heads in the store, thinking I would prefer the pistol grip, but ended up buying the regular ball head.

But that leads me to some advice, go to a store and try some heads out, as it is a matter of personal preference, and then reward the store for having the examples on hand by buying it there.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:43 PM   #5
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

IIRC my tripod is also an 055xproB
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 09:53 PM   #6
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazytiger View Post
So, today I started looking at tripods and I don't really know what to look for except that it must be a Manfrotto.
Tripod snob!!


I have both a manfrotto tripod and monopod. awesome stuff!
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:05 PM   #7
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Yea, I have a manfrotto monopod too, but honestly dont find myself using it much. I mainly keep it around for self defense.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Yea, I have a manfrotto monopod too, but honestly dont find myself using it much. I mainly keep it around for self defense.
A Manfrotto Monopod runs what, $100?

A tire thumper is $10 or $15?
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:20 PM   #9
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

$60 + what I paid for the QR clamp, about $160 total I think. But I carry it because I could actually have a non-defensive use for it too. I have the SIG P220 in the truck too if not on my person. Depending on what state I am in.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:35 PM   #10
AntD.
Senior Member
 
AntD.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 372
Default

I bought mine from Wally World...
__________________
Livin' The Dream!

My RP Photos

My Flickr Photos

My RRPA Photos

YouTube Videos
AntD. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:46 PM   #11
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
$60 + what I paid for the QR clamp, about $160 total I think. But I carry it because I could actually have a non-defensive use for it too. I have the SIG P220 in the truck too if not on my person. Depending on what state I am in.
Um... remind me not to piss you off anymore.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 02:43 AM   #12
Greg P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 1,003
Send a message via AIM to Greg P
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
$60 + what I paid for the QR clamp, about $160 total I think. But I carry it because I could actually have a non-defensive use for it too. I have the SIG P220 in the truck too if not on my person. Depending on what state I am in.
If I'm in PA, WV or VA, I carry a Smith and Wesson .38spl.

If I'm in Maryland, I just have to smile and give the robbers my camera.
Greg P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:50 AM   #13
coborn35
Senior Member
 
coborn35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 1,398
Default

The AR15 works well in MN.
__________________
I personally have had a problem with those trying to tell us to turn railroad photography into an "art form." It's fine for them to do so, I welcome it in fact, but what I do have a problem with is that the practitioners of the more "arty" shots, I have found, tend to look down their nose's at others who are shooting more "mundane" shots.
Railroad photography is what you make of it, but one way is not "better" than another, IMHO. Unless you have a pole right thought the nose of the engine! -SG
coborn35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:01 AM   #14
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks View Post
A Manfrotto Monopod runs what, $100?
Nope, $51.48! (free shipping and no tax!) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=REG&A=details

Just ordered one two days ago because I lost my last one (left it at one of my jobs).

By the way, a monopod also works well as a hiking stick.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:12 AM   #15
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

A good one will last a life time so don't be cheep unless your like Jim LOL, I have to say I had to back track 60 miles after finding out it didn't get packed up at the last shoot, In a rush you know!
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 12:59 PM   #16
John Craft
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 238
Default

Apparently you're not too far from Manfrotto Grand Central:

http://bogentripodparts.com/

You might want to drop by and look at a few.
John Craft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 02:47 PM   #17
viper
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Thunderhorn (US)
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
$60 + what I paid for the QR clamp, about $160 total I think. But I carry it because I could actually have a non-defensive use for it too. I have the SIG P220 in the truck too if not on my person. Depending on what state I am in.
That's a nice piece of iron there.

Greg: What do you feed in that?

My 686 gets 125gr JHP usually.
viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 03:07 PM   #18
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Nope, $51.48! (free shipping and no tax!) http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=REG&A=details

Just ordered one two days ago because I lost my last one (left it at one of my jobs).
Keep in mind, that does not come with any kind of head. I bought a Acra-Swiss compatible clamp so it would accommodate all my existing QR plates. You need something because it's just got that 3/8" stud on the end of the monopod and if you dont use a QR system, most feet and camera bodies have a 1/4" threaded hole.

No need for anything fancy,
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 04:22 PM   #19
jnohallman
Senior Member
 
jnohallman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg P View Post
If I'm in PA, WV or VA, I carry a Smith and Wesson .38spl.

If I'm in Maryland, I just have to smile and give the robbers my camera.
Quote:
The AR15 works well in MN.
I don't know why you all don't just use The Force. I find that lightning bolts from my fingers do a fine job just about anywhere.

Jon
__________________
"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." - Mark Twain

Click here to see my photos on RP.net!

Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, click here. Don't even think about it. I'm warning you!
jnohallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 05:35 PM   #20
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Yea, an AR-15 is a little excessive and unwieldy when you are carrying a tripod and a camera bag, and hard to conceal under my seat/in my glove box/under my ass when I am in a state with terrible gun laws like Maryland.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 05:44 PM   #21
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milwman View Post
A good one will last a life time so don't be cheap unless you're like Jim LOL
It's a great monopod.

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Keep in mind, that does not come with any kind of head. You need something because it's just got that 3/8" stud on the end of the monopod and if you dont use a QR system, most feet and camera bodies have a 1/4" threaded hole.
I've never felt inclined to use a head on a monopod. The dual-threaded stud on the 680B fits everything I've screwed on it (four different cameras and my 100-400 lens).
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 07:15 PM   #22
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
I've never felt inclined to use a head on a monopod. The dual-threaded stud on the 680B fits everything I've screwed on it (four different cameras and my 100-400 lens).
Do you have plates on your lenses and body that you would have to remove if you want to use the monopod? That would be a pain in the ass for me I would not want to screw with.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:01 PM   #23
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Do you have plates on your lenses and body that you would have to remove if you want to use the monopod? That would be a pain in the ass for me I would not want to screw with.
Not at all. I've used the monopod with an Elph, an Olympus (my work camera), my Rebel XT, my 5D and my 100-400 (tripod ring).

What do you mean by plates? The monopod simply screws right into the hot shoe.

You DO know that larger stud is spring loaded that drops down to expose a smaller threaded (industry standard) stud that fits all the above mentioned gear, right?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias

Last edited by JimThias; 04-28-2011 at 11:04 PM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:09 PM   #24
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Not at all. I've used the monopod with an Elph, an Olympus (my work camera), my Rebel XT, my 5D and my 100-400 (tripod ring).

What do you mean by plates? The monopod simply screws right into the hot shoe.

You DO know that larger stud is spring loaded that drops down to expose a smaller threaded (industry standard) stud that fits all the above mentioned gear, right?
Some of us use quick release plates that we leave permanently on the bottom of the body and of any long lenses with their own tripod mounts.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Ball_Head.html
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:18 PM   #25
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Quick release plates. If you ever go that route, you will never go back.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.