Old 12-07-2007, 08:35 PM   #1
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,889
Default Help! My CF Cards Just Got Smaller!!!

Wen I switched over from my 300D to the 400D, you know what happened, right? I put in my old 256 card and -- WHAT?! -- I only had 20 something pictures on an empty card?! Well, duh! Then when I tried to shot RAW, it ent down even further.

Putting in my 512 gave me more space, obviously, but not a lot more breathing room. A quick trip tp the camera store where I picked up a 1 GB card, but I'm still left with knowing I'll have to take my lap top with me on over nights or maybe even day long trips until I can get another card or two.

Just made me chuckle when I think of how easy it is to think you'll just go get a new digital camera.... and not think about other things you'll need, too.


Joe
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 09:15 PM   #2
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

Try formatting it
(Tongue firmly in cheek)
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 09:19 PM   #3
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

4 gb cards might come in handy more than a 1gb or 2gb, then again they cost more too.


I have the same problem when I go from using my XT to using the school's 5D, my 4gb card goes from getting around 500 RAW shots to getting about 250 or 300
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 10:21 PM   #4
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,569
Default

Ha! Just try going the other way!!!

I put a roll of film in my A2E a while back - I was autobracketting as well.
A roll of 24??? I think I shot off about 10 scenes.

The next roll lasted longer... but not like a digital card.

As for digital, my 40D is much hungrier then my 20D ever was.

4 Gigs can be had pretty cheap now, unless you opt for something like an Extreme IV - anyone prefer or notice a valuable difference regarding Extreme I, II, III or IV's?

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 10:40 PM   #5
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgoldman
Ha! Just try going the other way!!!

I put a roll of film in my A2E a while back - I was autobracketting as well.
A roll of 24??? I think I shot off about 10 scenes.

The next roll lasted longer... but not like a digital card.

As for digital, my 40D is much hungrier then my 20D ever was.

4 Gigs can be had pretty cheap now, unless you opt for something like an Extreme IV - anyone prefer or notice a valuable difference regarding Extreme I, II, III or IV's?

/Mitch
I think Extreme IV's are faster and come with recovery software.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 10:42 PM   #6
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bowman
4 gb cards might come in handy more than a 1gb or 2gb, then again they cost more too.


I have the same problem when I go from using my XT to using the school's 5D...
I just went to the camera store today and took some comparison shots between the 5D and my 350D, using my 100-400 lens. Oh, man...talk about WIDE at 100mm. I NEED that camera...NOW. Oh, and the higher ISO's are nearly noise-free.

I don't give a damn about how much storage I'll need...I want it...I NEED IT! Would anyone like to buy some rarely used keyboards?
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 11:13 PM   #7
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
I just went to the camera store today and took some comparison shots between the 5D and my 350D, using my 100-400 lens. Oh, man...talk about WIDE at 100mm. I NEED that camera...NOW. Oh, and the higher ISO's are nearly noise-free.

I don't give a damn about how much storage I'll need...I want it...I NEED IT! Would anyone like to buy some rarely used keyboards?
I dont know about being noise free, but it is a big improvement. When I use the 5D I try to shoot at either 50, or 100 ISO. Around 800 or 1600 it starts getting noticeably noisey, maybe compared to 400 and 800 on the 350D. At least thats from my point of view from the several times ive used it.
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 11:40 PM   #8
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

You guys can complain, at least your snazzy cameras can handle a 4 or 8 GB card... my camera's so old that it can only handle 128 MB cards (and Sony stopped making them!). Granted I can take about 55 shots / card at the highest JPEG setting... but still...

If Santa's good this year, I'll be able to get rid of that pesky old camera...

EDIT: And, AND, I can only use ISO 100, ISO 200's there but too noisy... and I have to walk uphill both ways when I'm trackside
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 12:05 AM   #9
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottergoose
You guys can complain, at least your snazzy cameras can handle a 4 or 8 GB card... my camera's so old that it can only handle 128 MB cards (and Sony stopped making them!). Granted I can take about 55 shots / card at the highest JPEG setting... but still...

If Santa's good this year, I'll be able to get rid of that pesky old camera...

EDIT: And, AND, I can only use ISO 100, ISO 200's there but too noisy... and I have to walk uphill both ways when I'm trackside
Until recently I had a Sony camera that used:





*gasp*





Floppy disks! 1.44MB of storage, 3-4 photos per disk.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 12:21 AM   #10
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frederick
I think Extreme IV's are faster and come with recovery software.
Whether the speed of the card makes a difference in practice depends on the camera and on how you use it, such as whether you ever shoot shots continuously. Here are some tested speeds by chip and body:
http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/mul...e.asp?cid=6007
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 12:24 AM   #11
Carl Becker
Senior Member
 
Carl Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog
A quick trip tp the camera store where I picked up a 1 GB card, but I'm still left with knowing I'll have to take my lap top with me on over nights or maybe even day long trips until I can get another card or two.
My dad started having trouble recently when he had too many shots from a road trip and ran out of space on his 256 card. I had a 512 that was toally good enough for me, but it was Black Friday. I got a 2 GB for $17.99. Not that I'll probably ever need that much (until a trip that's coming in March), but I was pleasantly surprised when he came home the other day with the 512 card full and several more images on the 256. Funny how fast the cards fill up when you feel like you've just started shooting!

~Carl Becker
Carl Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 12:26 AM   #12
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Becker
it was Black Friday. I got a 2 GB for $17.99.
I got my 2 GB on last year's Black Friday! It was something like $30 then. Things came up and I missed out this year.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 03:32 AM   #13
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Becker
I got a 2 GB for $17.99. Not that I'll probably ever need that much (until a trip that's coming in March)

~Carl Becker
Where are you going?
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.