Old 03-28-2007, 02:31 PM   #1
RiverCityRail
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Unhappy Could I have salvaged this enough...

to be accepted?



Reason(s) for Rejection:
- Poor lighting (Cloudy): Common angle cloudy day shots of common/standard power are generally not accepted.

Last edited by RiverCityRail; 03-28-2007 at 02:33 PM.
RiverCityRail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 03:37 PM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

The short answer: NO

The longer answer: there is not light of consequence on the unit, there is nothing of compositional interest in the shot, it's full of noise, a weed blocks the front knuckle. Processing it would make it look a bit better but not much, and more likely to look fake. Go back and shoot again on a nice day. We've all been there, done that! Some days just don't work.

Unrelated question from the peanut gallery: why put a RR's ebsite URL on a locomotive?
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 03:41 PM   #3
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

The short answer is no.

The light is bad, you have bushes sticking up into the engine and it's a bad crop, with the tree almost on the edge of the frame. Even if you had pulled up the weeds and taken the shot from a better angle it still would have been rejected. The lighting just was too bad.

Roster shots, which are just locomotives by themselves, need to be almost perfect or RP won't accept them. That means sunny, no shadows, no obstructions.

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 03:42 PM   #4
RiverCityRail
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Unrelated question from the peanut gallery: why put a RR's ebsite URL on a locomotive?
The reason i took the photo was Verasun Energy is an ethanol producer and it seemed weird they would have this engine for presumably switching one of their plants.

I'd go back and try again but 5 minutes after this shot the ICE hooked up to the engine and left with it 5th in a consist headed east
RiverCityRail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 08:27 PM   #5
nwrails
Junior Member
 
nwrails's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Unrelated question from the peanut gallery: why put a RR's website URL on a locomotive?
The short answer: Advertising.

Daniel
nwrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 09:39 PM   #6
lwhistler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Try High Dynamic Range (HDR) software such as Photomatix from http://www.hdrsoft.com It sells for $100 but they have a full functioning free demo that will put a watermark on the finished image.

The Tone Mapping feature might really improve that shot.
__________________
Leonard Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
www.RGBpixels.ca
www.Stubby.ca
lwhistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 10:00 PM   #7
Pat Lorenz
Senior Member
 
Pat Lorenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Unrelated question from the peanut gallery: why put a RR's ebsite URL on a locomotive?
Why not, after all locomotives are painted to advertise, and with the internet redily avalible now, it makes perfect sense.

CN does it...
Pat Lorenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 11:29 PM   #8
Burner50
Member
 
Burner50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 88
Send a message via MSN to Burner50
Default

I'm curious to know where this was taken...
Burner50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 01:26 AM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwhistler
Try High Dynamic Range (HDR) software such as Photomatix from http://www.hdrsoft.com It sells for $100 but they have a full functioning free demo that will put a watermark on the finished image.

The Tone Mapping feature might really improve that shot.
Leonard, I am not familiar with Photomatix but I am familiar with HDR. HDR is a technique for dealing with extremes in brightness, lots of very dark and very bright. One starts with two images, either two different RAW conversions of the same shot or two differently exposed but otherwise identical shots (need good tripod technique).

This shot does not have a problem with extreme range of light. It has a problem with bad light - even the sky is not so bright. So HDR isn't the answer. You can raise the brightness way, way up, but it will never look right.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 02:16 AM   #10
lwhistler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
Leonard, I am not familiar with Photomatix but I am familiar with HDR. HDR is a technique for dealing with extremes in brightness, lots of very dark and very bright. One starts with two images, either two different RAW conversions of the same shot or two differently exposed but otherwise identical shots (need good tripod technique).

This shot does not have a problem with extreme range of light. It has a problem with bad light - even the sky is not so bright. So HDR isn't the answer. You can raise the brightness way, way up, but it will never look right.
I have been playing around with the demo version of the Photomatix software and Tone Mapping can, in some cases, improve a shot such as that one. Only one exposure is required but it must be a RAW file. The improvement is small, but it might be enough to get the image accepted.

Better solution would be to re-shoot, if possible.
__________________
Leonard Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
www.RGBpixels.ca
www.Stubby.ca
lwhistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 07:39 PM   #11
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwhistler
Try High Dynamic Range (HDR) software such as Photomatix from http://www.hdrsoft.com It sells for $100 but they have a full functioning free demo that will put a watermark on the finished image.

The Tone Mapping feature might really improve that shot.
Presumably, he didn't take at least two or three different exposures of this shot, so an HDR processed shot is out of the question.

By the way, I bought the Photomatix program and it's excellent.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 12:00 AM   #12
lwhistler
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I played around in the Photomatix software without any good results. In Photoshop I used Curves and I think I improved the image slightly, but as others have mentioned the weed on the knuckle is no good, and it probably would still get rejected.

__________________
Leonard Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
www.RGBpixels.ca
www.Stubby.ca
lwhistler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 04:13 AM   #13
jb17kx
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 27
Default

That image is beyond saving. Even if the exposure can be corrected, there is far too much noise in the image that cannot be fixed. For future refference, you should avoid using very high ISO ratings (for a P&S, no more than 200, on a DSLR no more than 800), and instead try using a tripod or other support and a longer shutter speed, and try and compose the shot so that a light source, like the setting sun, is behind you and thus lighting the unit.
jb17kx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2007, 05:00 PM   #14
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

Well, that certainly shows that Photomatix can do amazing stuff, but when you put lipstick on a pig, it is still a pig!
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.