Old 10-13-2011, 01:37 AM   #1
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default Cropping

Hello again!
I got this rejected for bad cropping.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=976335&key=0

Any input would be great!

-Alex Keth
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 01:49 AM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Given that the caboose is well hidden behind a tree, I would crop significantly on the right and adjust the rest to suit.

Is that a CSX line underneath? The caption isn't very clear.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 01:50 AM   #3
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

A very nice scene, but I think you need to crop a good chuck off the top and right. This should put the leading locomotive in a good spot composition-wise, too! I think it may need some contrast and sharpening, also. And that sky looks a bit overexposed.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 01:57 AM   #4
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicman_841 View Post
And that sky looks a bit overexposed.
Probably because he got partially cloud-F'd.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 02:46 AM   #5
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
Given that the caboose is well hidden behind a tree, I would crop significantly on the right and adjust the rest to suit.

Is that a CSX line underneath? The caption isn't very clear.
Its the NS R-Line under it. Another local went under about a minute before and I was close to an over-under, too. I'll make sure to add that railroad line under it in the caption, too.

-Alex
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 02:47 AM   #6
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicman_841 View Post
A very nice scene, but I think you need to crop a good chuck off the top and right. This should put the leading locomotive in a good spot composition-wise, too! I think it may need some contrast and sharpening, also. And that sky looks a bit overexposed.

Hope this helps!
Thanks!
I'll go back and work on that.
-Alex
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 03:00 AM   #7
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Would this (attached) work? I think I need to sharpen the locomotive(s) more, right?

-Alex
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RP 0240NC.jpg (292.1 KB, 129 views)
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 03:10 AM   #8
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

That's too square of a crop. Try to remove some sky until you reach a 2:3 ratio.

And add contrast.
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 03:42 AM   #9
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicman_841 View Post
That's too square of a crop. Try to remove some sky until you reach a 2:3 ratio.

And add contrast.
No, no, no, remove some foreground first. In general it is too much down there, but also that white sand (?) between the rails lower right is a distraction.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:32 AM   #10
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

This is a very quick attempt from me to twerak it. First, I worked with the brightness/contrast. I descreased the contrast a bit and upped the contrast. I increased the saturation a hair to give as much color as I could to the trees and bushes. I then cropped on all sides, but mostly the left of the frame. I tried to crop as if there had been a train on the bottom track. Then I sharpened the shot a hair which gave it a case of the jaggies, but I'm guessig this is due to the low resolution version I was working with.

With all the said, it's still a cloudy day/common power shot. The second unit is obstructed. If there had been a train down blow too (esp. the head endof NS 337 or the Chester turn) then I think it could get in. Without I'm not so sure.

Did you by chance chase to Catawba? A good shot would be from the road over I-77 looking down to the railroad bridge. Somewhere on my Flickr account, I have a shot of it. The bridge you stand on is on a road that does not connect with I-77 between the 901 and Lancaster exits. Can rememeber road name.

Another good shot would have been the Cureton Ferry Rd. crossing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg alex10joeedit.jpg (720.6 KB, 130 views)
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com

Last edited by Joe the Photog; 10-13-2011 at 04:34 AM.
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 04:46 AM   #11
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Joe, I think you made a little boo boo while typing:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
I increased the saturation as far as I could go without melting my monitor into a pool of lava, to give as much color as I could to the trees and bushes.
I think the greens are kicked too far, unless this is a first greens of spring shot, and the yellow stripe is pretty strong also, unless it was just painted yesterday. The worst is the backside of that blue sign.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 07:11 AM   #12
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

I said it was a quick go at it. And those signs are actually that shade of blue. I could show you a picture of it if you'd like.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:41 PM   #13
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog View Post
I said it was a quick go at it. And those signs are actually that shade of blue. I could show you a picture of it if you'd like.
It's more fun to remain ignorant and give you guff instead, thank you!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 05:52 PM   #14
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKeth View Post
Would this (attached) work? I think I need to sharpen the locomotive(s) more, right?

-Alex
Just curious about something...f8, ISO 100 and 1/125th shutter speed. Were you shooting in manual or auto?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 09:42 PM   #15
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Just curious about something...f8, ISO 100 and 1/125th shutter speed. Were you shooting in manual or auto?
Manual. And... if I'm correct I think I messed up a bit there haha.
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 09:49 PM   #16
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Ok, so here is another shot at it.

-Alex
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RP 0240NC.jpg (455.8 KB, 121 views)
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:07 PM   #17
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKeth View Post
Manual. And... if I'm correct I think I messed up a bit there haha.
Just wondering if you had been shooting on auto and the camera metered off the area where you got cloud F'd, thus making the sunny background and sky looking a bit overexposed.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:13 PM   #18
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
Just wondering if you had been shooting on auto and the camera metered off the area where you got cloud F'd, thus making the sunny background and sky looking a bit overexposed.
I'm sorry, so I should have shot in auto, or since I shot in manual, it doesn't look like it should?

Thanks!
-Alex
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:52 AM   #19
Hatchetman
Part-Time Railfan
 
Hatchetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,381
Default

personally, I probably would've metered it like you...off the street and trees, potentially leading to an overexposed sky. but for a moving train you have to have the shutter speed at least at 1/250 if not faster. bumping the ISO to 200 would've been the logical choice.
Hatchetman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:40 AM   #20
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKeth View Post
I'm sorry, so I should have shot in auto, or since I shot in manual, it doesn't look like it should?

Thanks!
-Alex
I think he is saying the exposure looks off, so he suspects you shot in auto (and, implicitly, that you didn't adjust it in post processing). IIRC, Jim is an always-manual shooter.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:44 AM   #21
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
I think he is saying the exposure looks off, so he suspects you shot in auto (and, implicitly, that you didn't adjust it in post processing). IIRC, Jim is an always-manual shooter.
Oh ok. Thanks. I was shooting in manual, not auto, and I guess I never checked my settings (my mind was not focused on the camera I suppose ).
Should I give this shot up after a couple more tries, and go back to Rock Hill around the time the local runs up the line, or can I save the shot for here?
If not, no worries, I can go back eventually.

-Alex
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 02:05 PM   #22
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
I think he is saying the exposure looks off, so he suspects you shot in auto (and, implicitly, that you didn't adjust it in post processing). IIRC, Jim is an always-manual shooter.
Yes. When I saw the settings, I thought maybe he shot in auto and the camera had metered off the cloud-shadowed foreground.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 02:37 PM   #23
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AKeth View Post
Should I give this shot up after a couple more tries, and go back to Rock Hill around the time the local runs up the line, or can I save the shot for here?
I don't know if I'd give up on it entirely, but for RP, I'm not so sure. I'd get back there ASAP before it starts getting dark even earlier though. If you get lucky with the head end of a train being below the trestle, I might go for more of a head on shot -- if safe -- from White Street looking down the tracks.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:15 PM   #24
Jeff Terry
Senior Member
 
Jeff Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newport, Minnesota
Posts: 46
Default

It's an interesting shot, but I'm not sure that it's RP material. The train seems like an afterthought to me because of the distance. This location certainly has potential, though.
Jeff Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 02:05 AM   #25
AKeth
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 97
Default

Hello again,
I've decided to not go further, as, after getting me with oversharpened (so I reduced that), it got rejected again (exact shot with it being less sharpened) for overexposure and bad contrast.
Here it is:
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=976806&key=0

So, I think I will eventually make it back up to Rock Hill to get another shot here in better lighting. I really appreciate the help, and I don't want to keep getting a shot rejected again and again after going back through.
I'm not worrying about it, and I think there is more potential at that location in the future.

Thanks again!
-Alex Keth
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.