Old 01-10-2009, 04:32 AM   #1
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default Neat Canon wireless remote

I got my Cactus Wireless Shutter Release from ebay and so far I am happy. Works great on my 40d and it was cheap. The button is two staged like the one on the camera for focusing. It also supports bulb mode and has a range of 30 meters. 16 channels. It also has good reviews on the WWW. You also can't go wrong with the battery grip. It really balances medium to larger lens' nicely and fits well in my hands. Battery power is a big plus.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	canon.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	415.9 KB
ID:	3632   Click image for larger version

Name:	canon2.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	403.8 KB
ID:	3633  
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:28 AM   #2
DelmonteX
Senior Member
 
DelmonteX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
I got my Cactus Wireless Shutter Release from ebay and so far I am happy. Works great on my 40d and it was cheap. The button is two staged like the one on the camera for focusing. It also supports bulb mode and has a range of 30 meters. 16 channels. It also has good reviews on the WWW. You also can't go wrong with the battery grip. It really balances medium to larger lens' nicely and fits well in my hands. Battery power is a big plus.

Good luck with it Travis.

I purchased one from another "manufacturer", looks very similar to yours. After a while, it wouldn't reliably communicate with the receiver, even after both batteries were changed. Finally, it wouldn't allow the shutter to stay open for a time exposure.

Got a new one, different manufacturer, and after a week or so, it's having similar problems. I have to turn it off and back on for the wireless part to work. Fortunately this one has a button that doesn't use the wireless, so I can still do long exposures.
__________________
Steve Carter
Headquartered in the Puget Sound (well off to one side)

My Railpictures.net photos


My other photos
DelmonteX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 01:29 PM   #3
TheRoadForeman
Banned
 
TheRoadForeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 640
Default

Travis, sound like a neat product! Do you know if they offer a similar product for my Nikon?

-- Kevin
TheRoadForeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 01:41 PM   #4
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
The button is two staged like the one on the camera for focusing.
You use the shutter button for focusing?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:18 PM   #5
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
You use the shutter button for focusing?
Don't you?
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:21 PM   #6
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRoadForeman
Travis, sound like a neat product! Do you know if they offer a similar product for my Nikon?

-- Kevin
http://www.gadgetinfinity.com/produc...roductid=16746

just google cactus remote nikon
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:24 PM   #7
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DelmonteX
Good luck with it Travis.

I purchased one from another "manufacturer", looks very similar to yours. After a while, it wouldn't reliably communicate with the receiver, even after both batteries were changed. Finally, it wouldn't allow the shutter to stay open for a time exposure.

Got a new one, different manufacturer, and after a week or so, it's having similar problems. I have to turn it off and back on for the wireless part to work. Fortunately this one has a button that doesn't use the wireless, so I can still do long exposures.
I hope it lasts a bit. $20 isn't going to break me and I still have my wired release. Reviews from many people are pretty high for this product.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:30 PM   #8
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
Don't you?
No. * is your friend.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:43 PM   #9
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
No. * is your friend.
Why? I have never understood that feature. I would love to know more details about why you like it.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:07 PM   #10
Railfan Ohio
Senior Member
 
Railfan Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fredericktown, Ohio
Posts: 334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
Why? I have never understood that feature. I would love to know more details about why you like it.
The * is your friend because it allows you to check and adjust your exposure by pushing the shutter halfway down without screwing up your focus, because it is a different button.
__________________
Andy Toms

B&O: the First, the Best
Pennsy: the Standard, but still #2

My pix:http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=11344
Railfan Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:13 PM   #11
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Railfan Ohio
The * is your friend because it allows you to check and adjust your exposure by pushing the shutter halfway down without screwing up your focus, because it is a different button.
I shoot full manual so once my camera is setup I am pretty good for long stretches at a time, usually. To me it doesn't make sense. If your camera isn't setup why are you focusing on your subject. I will point the camera where I need to and set it up, then I point, focus, and shoot.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:45 PM   #12
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

I use AF-ON because I'm cool that way. It works best with a semi-auto mode like Av or P, when you don't really have time to set up an exposure and need to focus on something other than what you need to meter on. I found it's also better for taking shots at a wide aperture, because focus really is so important there.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:48 PM   #13
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40
I use AF-ON because I'm cool that way. It works best with a semi-auto mode like Av or P, when you don't really have time to set up an exposure and need to focus on something other than what you need to meter on. I found it's also better for taking shots at a wide aperture, because focus really is so important there.
I only shoot manual and can have my camera from bag to shooting in 5 seconds. I should say I could. I have to learn all over with the 40d.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 04:58 PM   #14
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

The AF-ON button is money...it replaces the * custom function on the XT (although, I still think I had to custom function to get it to do what I wanted to do on the 40D).

BTW, why is there no AF-ON button on the vertical/battery grip? FAIL!!!!
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 03:13 PM   #15
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DelmonteX
Good luck with it Travis.

I purchased one from another "manufacturer", looks very similar to yours. After a while, it wouldn't reliably communicate with the receiver, even after both batteries were changed. Finally, it wouldn't allow the shutter to stay open for a time exposure.

Got a new one, different manufacturer, and after a week or so, it's having similar problems. I have to turn it off and back on for the wireless part to work. Fortunately this one has a button that doesn't use the wireless, so I can still do long exposures.
The remote looks like the FOB I use to enter the garage at my condo. After a while it also began to stop communicating reliably... there is a red LED that comes on when it communicates to the reciever and that LED would not come on very often. I took it apart and cleaned the contact (looked dirty) with no improvement. The battery was ok voltage wise, too.

As I played with the FOB's guts (removed from the plastic housing) I began to notice that it worked 100% when I pressed down on the battery when pressing on the door button. So, I when I re-assembled it I added a small piece of paper folded over a few times against the battery to provide a bit of pressure on the battery... no problems now.
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:16 PM   #16
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lock4244
The remote looks like the FOB I use to enter the garage at my condo. After a while it also began to stop communicating reliably... there is a red LED that comes on when it communicates to the reciever and that LED would not come on very often. I took it apart and cleaned the contact (looked dirty) with no improvement. The battery was ok voltage wise, too.

As I played with the FOB's guts (removed from the plastic housing) I began to notice that it worked 100% when I pressed down on the battery when pressing on the door button. So, I when I re-assembled it I added a small piece of paper folded over a few times against the battery to provide a bit of pressure on the battery... no problems now.
Sounds like my old cell phone battery fix. These are fancy with the led changing from red to green depending if you do a half push or full.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 04:39 PM   #17
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lock4244
The remote looks like the FOB
As info, fob is not an acronym, so it is not a capitalized word.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Key_fob

Seeing your capitalization, I got curious as to what the acronym meant and found out it does not exist.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:21 PM   #18
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,048
Default

I don't know what FOB means (I don't mean free on board, either), all I know is that I have one and we sell them from time to time at work. It's an industry term that we tend not to think that much about (like L16, Securex, or Kleenex) because everyone calls them that. Then you had to drag Wiki into the discussion

Travis, the push button is not what I'm on about... just the battery making poor contact because it's a little loose. Might not be the problem here, but it sounds very framiliar. Though these things cost $25-30 or more, they certainly are not worth that much (read cheap junk). My FOB cost me $50! It ain't worth that much...
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 09:31 PM   #19
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Does your fob have an antenna that pulls out? This one does. A metal antenna extends 2 inches for that extra reach.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:17 PM   #20
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
Why? I have never understood that feature. I would love to know more details about why you like it.
What's not to understand? Why WOULDN'T you want to have the focus control on a different button from the shutter button?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:29 PM   #21
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lock4244
I don't know what FOB means (I don't mean free on board, either), all I know is that I have one and we sell them from time to time at work. It's an industry term that we tend not to think that much about (like L16, Securex, or Kleenex) because everyone calls them that. Then you had to drag Wiki into the discussion
You misunderstand me; a fob is not just an industry term, we all use it (unlike L16 or Securex, what are those!). I was just surprised to see the capitalization and I thought I was going to learn something new. When I didn't, I decided to share my non-knowledge with the forum!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:03 PM   #22
lock4244
Senior Member
 
lock4244's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The City Below Vaughan
Posts: 1,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC
You misunderstand me; a fob is not just an industry term, we all use it (unlike L16 or Securex, what are those!). I was just surprised to see the capitalization and I thought I was going to learn something new. When I didn't, I decided to share my non-knowledge with the forum!
L16 is a BX to box connector... Securex is Fire Alarm cable (wire). I still laugh every time I hear someone call an EMT conduit bender a "hicky". Not sure how that one came about...
__________________
Mike Lockwood

Insert witty comment here

Hot girl on girl action here!

More Pics Here
lock4244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:12 PM   #23
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias
What's not to understand? Why WOULDN'T you want to have the focus control on a different button from the shutter button?
What wrong with the half push of the shutter? quick, easy.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 11:16 PM   #24
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,832
Default

I use AF to get me in the ballpark, then I hit the switch to MF and go from there..

Loyd L.
__________________
Those who seek glory, must also seek infamy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 12:19 AM   #25
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz
What wrong with the half push of the shutter? quick, easy.
Margin of error. With the *, there is no margin of error.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.