Old 08-18-2008, 08:11 PM   #1
Rui Nunes

Send a message via MSN to Rui Nunes
Default LightRoom

Well the name pretty much says it all... Do you consider it a useful tool? Just installed it today and I am very pleased with the results!

Here's the before:

And here's the after ( I am a total newbie to this tool, so nothing too elaborate was performed ):

What do you think? Nevermind the bus, there weren't any train pictures on the memory stick
- It doesn't make sense to speak seriously to someone who is joking. On the other hand, if you were joking I wouldn't take you seriously. It's a complicated situation, I wouldn't want to be in your shoes...

http://www.flickr.com/photos/rui_gv_nunes/
Rui Nunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:03 AM   #2
JRMDC

I don't see anything in the before/after comparison that is unique to Lightroom. Glad you are happy with it, but I don't understand the question.

My sense is that Lightroom has more tools for handling high-volume photography - lots and lots of shots taken - at the expense of not having every single one of the zillions of things that Photoshop does. So a high-volume pro can load up a batch, sort through them, do some corrections in batch mode, and take the ones that need special treatment to PS.

If that fits your workflow, I would presume it is a good product for you. I am not aware of any photo processing feature that is unique to it, however.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 02:13 AM   #3
River Rails Photography
Banned

Send a message via AIM to River Rails Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rui Nunes
Nevermind the bus, there weren't any train pictures on the memory stick
Deeargh, you trouble maker

I was able to get pretty much the same results in iPhoto's quick auto enhance:
Attached Thumbnails