Old 09-02-2009, 05:18 PM   #1
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default Sending in for a print.

How does one do this? I've been poking around the idea when I get some cash (since I've been out of a paycheck for 3 weeks now) to get some prints done. Do you process the file as your normally would without resizing or leave it as is, or what? I plan on using MPIX from the countless suggestions viewing other threads and doing some research of my own. Any help on the preperation of sending the shot in to any print site would be greatly appreciated.

Ben

Wow, it feels weird asking for help after not doing so for a while, haha.
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:27 PM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asis80 View Post
Wow, it feels weird asking for help after not doing so for a while, haha.
Indirectly bragging some more about the PCAs? Give it a rest!
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:30 PM   #3
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

hahahah, no, seems like I've been giving help more than asking for it lately, lol.

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:44 PM   #4
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

I print all of my stuff from 4X6 to 20X30 (haven't done a 24X36 yet) from the largest file possible. Edit for a print from that file. I've gotten one done from Shutterstock before and they were good, but the rest I've gotten from my local Ritz camera outlet. You do it yourself at the kiosk so if there's any size or aspect artio differences, you choose that. Then they print it off and you get to see it in as little as an hour later.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 05:58 PM   #5
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Joe, if you don't mind me asking how much did Ritz charge? I'm having reservations about Ritz after a recent run in with them. It's the only issue I've had with them, but this one time "run in" set me off with them. But if the price is right, and since they're close and if the prints are in good quality I might pay them a visit, haha.

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 06:05 PM   #6
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

I want to say the 20X30 was 24 dollars, but don't hold me to that. It was a few months ago. You could give them a call and ask the price and make sure it's an in-store job for that location. They did make me pay before they printed it off, but when I picked it up, they made sure I was going to look it over before I left the store.

(Just to note they are not the store that mucked up my slide project in another thread. That was a locally owned store)
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 06:07 PM   #7
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

Well, their web site http://www.ritzpix.com/net/content.aspx?page=5 says it's $29.99 for a 20X30.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 06:07 PM   #8
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

bayphoto.com is also good but snap fish is just completely horrible!

I do not resize and crop as little as I can. Also, keep DPI at 240-300 higher being better but if you have to go down to 240-260 because of cropping it will work. Also, over sharpening just a tad works well.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:45 PM   #9
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Senior Member
 
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 1,956
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Blaszczyk (2) Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Default

Do your normal editing without resizing. MPIX and Adorama both allow you to crop to the print dimension not sure about others so getting the dimensions perfect isn't necessary. Also, when preparing the shot using their software make sure the "do not make corrections" box is checked off if you have the photo how you want. I have never let them make corrections because I'm afrain of what will happen. I should try it on a 4x6 or something cheap to see the differences if any. I'm sure they have that in place for the P&S grab-shot public. I forgot sharpening but Travis already mentioned it. I use 85-100/0.5/0 for RP but tend to go 125-175/0.5/0 for prints.
__________________
-Andrew Blaszczyk a.k.a. AB(2)
Proud fan of the Sabres, Islanders, Rockies, and Lions.

"My camera is an artistic medium, not a tool of terrorism."

www.ab2photography.com Coming soon!
My photos on RailPictures:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=960

Last edited by Andrew Blaszczyk (2); 09-02-2009 at 07:50 PM.
Andrew Blaszczyk (2) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 07:47 PM   #10
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Thank you guys! I'm off to re process my west slope stuff, make some damn nice prints for friday!

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 08:03 PM   #11
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Also, over sharpening just a tad works well.
Really?

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 08:24 PM   #12
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Blaszczyk (2) View Post
Do your normal editing without resizing. MPIX and Adorama both allow you to crop to the print dimension not sure about others so getting the dimensions perfect isn't necessary. Also, when preparing the shot using their software make sure the "do not make corrections" box is checked off if you have the photo how you want. I have never let them make corrections because I'm afrain of what will happen. I should try it on a 4x6 or something cheap to see the differences if any. I'm sure they have that in place for the P&S grab-shot public. I forgot sharpening but Travis already mentioned it. I use 85-100/0.5/0 for RP but tend to go 125-175/0.5/0 for prints.

I think Adorama as well as most other printing labs have that feature mainly for photographers who have their screens calibrated to the same degree as the computers/printers at the lab. Though I am sure it is also for people who just shoot and send in.

With that being said, I have never turned the box off, I believe (no exaggerations) that I have sent in around 1,000-1,200 images to Adorama now and have only had 1 image come back that hasnt meant my expectations.
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 08:25 PM   #13
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asis80 View Post
Really?

Ben
Your monitors resolution is only like 90dpi compared to 300dpi. So a photo on your screen will have a jagged edge because of the monitors pixels. A print being higher quality can handle the extra sharpening. Plus I am sure there is slight ink blending that the extra sharpening helps with.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:21 PM   #14
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Thanks to Adorama and me signing with them for a first time, I get 25 free prints. I only have 3 ready for printing, so this should be a great way to test adorama out for free. I only have to pay the 3 dollars for shipping. We'll see how it turns out! To bad they're only 4x6's that are free, but hey. Free is Free and this sounds worth the try for a test run with them.

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 06:07 AM   #15
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asis80 View Post
Thanks to Adorama and me signing with them for a first time, I get 25 free prints. I only have 3 ready for printing, so this should be a great way to test adorama out for free. I only have to pay the 3 dollars for shipping. We'll see how it turns out! To bad they're only 4x6's that are free, but hey. Free is Free and this sounds worth the try for a test run with them.

Ben

A lot of Pro labs will give members free prints or products to test them out when you sign up with them, the only down side is that you have to be a "pro" or really just have a tax ID or business license # to give them to prove that you are a business. Ive tested a few labs and still cant find any that are better than Adorama.
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 06:41 AM   #16
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

I'd watch the sharpening. depending on print size, oversharpening IS noticeable. Hell, I've seen it at 8x10 on shots from my rebel.
Trust me, I do this for a living.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:34 PM   #17
HelenOster
Junior Member
 
HelenOster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 6
Default Message from Helen, Adorama Camera Customer Service Ambassador

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bowman View Post
....I believe (no exaggerations) that I have sent in around 1,000-1,200 images to Adorama now and have only had 1 image come back that hasnt meant my expectations.
We really appreciate your feedback, and your continued custom.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asis80 View Post
Thanks to Adorama and me signing with them for a first time, I get 25 free prints....... this should be a great way to test adorama out for free. I only have to pay the 3 dollars for shipping. We'll see how it turns out!.....this sounds worth the try for a test run with them.

Ben
If you have any problems, Ben, do let me know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey Bowman View Post
Ive tested a few labs and still cant find any that are better than Adorama.
Delighted to hear it! Thank you so much for your posting.
__________________
Helen Oster
Adorama Camera Customer Service Ambassador


http://twitter.com/HelenOster

HelenO@adorama.com
HelenOster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 02:20 PM   #18
Walter S
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,023
Send a message via AIM to Walter S
Default

Another vote for Adoramapix. They do a great job and the packaging is always amazing.
__________________
Walter Scriptunas II
Scriptunasimages.com
Walter S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 03:04 PM   #19
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40 View Post
I'd watch the sharpening. depending on print size, oversharpening IS noticeable. Hell, I've seen it at 8x10 on shots from my rebel.
Trust me, I do this for a living.
But you still need to sharpen more then you do for your monitor. Unless you don't want tack sharp prints. But of course if you over do the sharpening you will see it. So just a touch more.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 03:26 PM   #20
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

If you're zoomed in to 100%, you can tell what kind of sharpening you need. I wouldn't do it any other way.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 04:01 PM   #21
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40 View Post
If you're zoomed in to 100%, you can tell what kind of sharpening you need. I wouldn't do it any other way.
How else would you sharpen? 100% is the only way to do alot of PS adjustments.
The math of it is
monitor less dpi - photo more dpi
so that means you have to adjust respectfully.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 04:56 PM   #23
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Thank you so much guys, and to you Helen! From the reviews and great feedback here, AdoramaPix seems the way to go! We shall see when they arrive. Granted, I only ordered the free 4x6 so I won't be able to see the large scale quality, but I have some prints from a "big box store" that I can compare with. Guarenteed they'll be better than the "big box store" but seeing the difference will be way cool.

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 04:58 PM   #24
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

Travis, THANK YOU! Very imformative

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.