Old 11-04-2008, 06:47 PM   #1
asis80

Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default Moving on

I apologize first and foremost for dumping this here, but this seems like a forum not only for processing, but for advice on equipment and such also.

So, after actually deciding to record my railfanning, and for RP, a year ago, I bought a canon Powershot A640. Nice little P&S. But I was jealous. I had a fixin for a SLR. A DSLR to be exact. So after working my ass off working double shifts in our double and triple volume peak time at UPS, I saved enough for a XTi. I was happy with it, since I was a starter photographer and it gave me more freedom as a full manual mode DSLR, not like a P&S where I had literally no control. After a full year of using it, it feels like a P&S with some heavy duty interchangeable lenses. I'm moving on, to a 40D. Will I regret it....or no? Opinions please.

Ben

btw: anyone wanna buy an XTi?
Old 11-04-2008, 07:00 PM   #2
Ween

It took 3+ years before I went from the XT to the 40D. The XTi seems to be working well...I'd buy quality glass over a new body.
Old 11-04-2008, 07:02 PM   #3
Railfan Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ween
It took 3+ years before I went from the XT to the 40D. The XTi seems to be working well...I'd buy quality glass over a new body.
Go with Chris here, Ben. Now is the time to upgrade your lenses, you should be fine with the xti for awhile.

B&O: the First, the Best
Pennsy: the Standard, but still #2

My pix:http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=11344
Railfan Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 07:08 PM   #4
TAMR159

Definitely upgrade your lenses first. I shoot with a Rebel XT and an array of Canon's "L" lenses, and I find the quality of my shots is consistently better than friends of mine who shoot with a 40D and cheaper lenses.
TAMR159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 07:18 PM   #5
asis80