Old 01-20-2009, 12:54 PM   #26
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Fladung
I'm looking for RAW support for my XSi and I don't currently have that with my version of iPhoto (6). I don't have Aperture either.
Yea well you have to run Canons DPP or get Ilife 08 and a update or 09 for RAW in Iphoto, DPP is a good program but slow to do on a MAC, That just maybe me tho
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/

Last edited by milwman; 01-20-2009 at 12:57 PM.
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 07:02 PM   #27
John Fladung
JohnFladung.net
 
John Fladung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milwman
Are you sure you cant? i have and can still run PS E2 on my 10.4.11 it just taps my OS9 that came off my G3 laptop. Maybe you can if you have transferred all the programs off your older computers you just maybe abel to.
My Intel iMac can't run anything that was OS9 native because it can't run OS9. It's not even on this computer nor can I put it on there.
John Fladung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:02 PM   #28
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Fladung
My Intel iMac can't run anything that was OS9 native because it can't run OS9. It's not even on this computer nor can I put it on there.
Thats true, but its on my Intel imac, if it's not doing something why did they transfer it? i don't know.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:46 PM   #29
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,985
Default

Intel Mac's cannot run OS 9. OS 9 needs IBM PowerPC chips.

PowerPC Macs with Tiger 10.4 had emulation to run the "Classic" environment for OS 9 but Apple took that out for Leopard. While apparently there are 3rd party applications that allow you to run Classic in Leopard, the drivers won't load so why bother.

So if you have OS 9 software on your Intel Mac, you are wasting space if you don't dump it.
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:45 AM   #30
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis A. Livesey
Intel Mac's cannot run OS 9. OS 9 needs IBM PowerPC chips.

So if you have OS 9 software on your Intel Mac, you are wasting space if you don't dump it.
Ok well not sure how or what to dump so will hold for now. Looking at it i don't think its all on there. I just had a TB drive installed so there room for now.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:59 AM   #31
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,985
Default

I use AppDelete to get rid of applications. Couldn't be easier. Launch it, drag the unwanted application icon to the AppDelete icon and Poof! its gone.

AppDelete
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 04:44 AM   #32
John Fladung
JohnFladung.net
 
John Fladung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milwman
Thats true, but its on my Intel imac, if it's not doing something why did they transfer it? i don't know.
I wouldn't know. I've never heard of an intel running Mac that has "Classic" installed on it with OSX. Maybe you have a rare machine!
John Fladung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 11:19 AM   #33
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Fladung
I've never heard of an intel running Mac that has "Classic" installed on it with OSX.
Think its just some apps that came off my G3, May take it down ask some that KNOWS what's what.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 05:26 PM   #34
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,985
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Fladung
I wouldn't know. I've never heard of an intel running Mac that has "Classic" installed on it with OSX.
Classic is software that allowed OS 9 to run within the OS 10 environment on a PowerPC Mac.

Programs like SheepShaver, with caveats, will allow you to do the same on an Intel Mac.

I wouldn't recommend doing this to any normal person. I myself wouldn't do it. This is along the lines of, if you don't understand what has just been said, you should ignore it.

I'll go with my original statement "You can't run OS 9 on Intel."

Check this out with a web search or speak to a local computer guru.
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777

Last edited by Dennis A. Livesey; 01-23-2009 at 04:48 PM.
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 12:12 PM   #35
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdirelan87
It depends on what editing program you use. As was already mentioned, iPhoto doesn't work very well with Photoshop. If you go the PS route, best just to use Bridge (although bridge can be very annoying in its own right). Also, don't forget that iPhoto is a very bare bones program aimed at people taking pictures of their kids, as such what you can do with it is very limited.
I am running the newest and don't see that at all. After you find the date you can go back and scroll the file numbers in 3 clicks in PS E6. And works raws much better than my older IPhoto as it's no longer Bare Bones as you say.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.