Old 10-28-2010, 11:54 PM   #1
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default Color Help

Rejected for bad color... what needs to change?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NS3558 Crimora-1 10-27-10.jpg (287.4 KB, 170 views)
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:10 AM   #2
barnstormer
Senior Member
 
barnstormer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 374
Send a message via Skype™ to barnstormer
Default

On my screen it looks too yellow. It also looks oversaturated.
__________________
Stay out of the train's way and they will stay out of your way.

See my shots on Railpictures
See my shots on RRpicturearchives
barnstormer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 02:41 AM   #3
Greg P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 1,003
Send a message via AIM to Greg P
Default

Was it a raw imagine? It kind of looks like you put the "clarity" up to 100 in the raw editor.

Maybe add more black.
Greg P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:39 PM   #4
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default

No it's not a raw image. RAW sounds like too much of a hassle to worry about right now for me. My latest rejection was this... http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=870674&key=0.
I got mixed up on which file I was editing and where I was saving it so I kind of started over taking the rejections into consideration and have one waiting in the queue right now.
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:15 PM   #5
Doug Wolfe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 181
Default

On the second rejection it needs to go counter clockwise. It is leaning right.
Doug Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:22 PM   #6
jnohallman
Senior Member
 
jnohallman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickrick339889 View Post
RAW sounds like too much of a hassle to worry about right now for me.
Actually, RAW isn't as much of a hassle as you might think. I used to shoot JPG only because I thought RAW would be a big hassle, but once I made the switch, I wondered why I hadn't been shooting raw all the time. The biggest issue in shooting RAW is what program you use for processing the raw image. I don't know what program you use for doing your post processing in general, but I use Photoshop Elements, and for my RAW processing I use the Adobe RAW plug-in for my RebelXT. I've found it incredibly easy to use. Give it a try - you won't regret it!

Jon
__________________
"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." - Mark Twain

Click here to see my photos on RP.net!

Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, click here. Don't even think about it. I'm warning you!
jnohallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:41 PM   #7
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default

I use Photoshop 7... Don't know if that will work for what you are talking about. And I use a D40. Hopefully I will find it as easy as you did!
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:01 PM   #8
jnohallman
Senior Member
 
jnohallman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,527
Default

Adobe Camera Raw does indeed work for the D40. Check out the download site at Adobe.com, or try looking for it through PSE.

Jon
__________________
"Everybody talks about the weather, but nobody does anything about it." - Mark Twain

Click here to see my photos on RP.net!

Do not, under any circumstances whatsoever, click here. Don't even think about it. I'm warning you!
jnohallman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 06:45 PM   #9
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default

Latest rejection... http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=944499566

My monitor must be really messed up or something. I've never had this much trouble.
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 08:12 PM   #10
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

Too much black in the latest rejection. The sky doesn't look right in any of the versions to me. It needs to be bluer. There's a good shot in there somewhere. Tack sharp. You just need to find the right balance. I love those GE Dash 8-32s.
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 06:45 AM   #11
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default

I tried to take the black out I think and got this http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1207681285. It doesn't look that great on my monitor either, but what did look good they said was oversaturated...

I don't know what to do about the sky because that's pretty much the color it is on the original. These black engines must really throw off my camera or something.

Original attached
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NS3558 Crimora 10-27-10.jpg (807.4 KB, 58 views)
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 06:47 PM   #12
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default

And the second shot rejected too. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1003488033
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:06 PM   #13
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Go into saturation and lower the cyan saturation.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 11:24 PM   #14
Slickrick339889
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 96
Default

I don't quite want to give up yet, but I just can't seem to find the right balance. I think the sky looks better, but maybe everything else is to grey...I don't know.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=519217939
Slickrick339889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 01:40 AM   #15
mark woody
Senior Member
 
mark woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mudgee N.S.W. Australia
Posts: 641
Default

I had a go on original image, using PSE7 went into enhance>colour>remove colour cast>clicked on the wall of the shed at right [grey]. leveled.

Last edited by mark woody; 05-15-2011 at 12:28 AM.
mark woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 05:05 AM   #16
Chris Z
Senior Member
 
Chris Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Libertyville, Il
Posts: 937
Send a message via Skype™ to Chris Z
Default

Man, jpegs are hard to fix. This is much easier to do in RAW.
Anyway, here's my take on the color problem.

Chris Z
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NS3558 Crimora 10-27-10 2.jpg (525.1 KB, 76 views)
Chris Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 01:05 AM   #17
IHapsias
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slickrick339889 View Post
I tried to take the black out I think and got this http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...key=1207681285. It doesn't look that great on my monitor either, but what did look good they said was oversaturated...

I don't know what to do about the sky because that's pretty much the color it is on the original. These black engines must really throw off my camera or something.

Original attached
It looks bright on my screen, it also looks like it lacks color depth. Look at the orange M of W equipment. Their pale orange; did you shoot the color settings, wrong or something?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.