Old 10-12-2007, 06:58 PM   #1
Tgranville
Senior Member
 
Tgranville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Tgranville Send a message via Yahoo to Tgranville
Default Oversharpened?

Hey all,

kind of a newbie here. only been railfanning for less than a year. this shot got rejected for being oversharpened. i sharpened it a hair. was it too much? any help would be appreciated.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=431510&key=0

Tom
Tgranville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 07:14 PM   #2
Crusader
Senior Member
 
Crusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 242
Default

Hmm. Actually looks a little soft to me.
Maybe the screener meant "undersharpened."
__________________
View my photos on RP.net
Crusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 07:32 PM   #3
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Yeah, I'm not seeing 'Oversharpened' that much on this one...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 07:39 PM   #4
Tgranville
Senior Member
 
Tgranville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Tgranville Send a message via Yahoo to Tgranville
Default

I appealed it and asked what they were saying was oversharpened. The screener said that the edges where the locomotive meets the background, etc was jagged. ill try to fix it and resubmit it.
__________________
"Never argue with a stupid person. They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

My RP.net Photos

My Flickr Photos
Tgranville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 08:31 PM   #5
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgranville
I appealed it and asked what they were saying was oversharpened. The screener said that the edges where the locomotive meets the background, etc was jagged. ill try to fix it and resubmit it.
What kind of camera did you use and how big is the original file? When I look at the edges, and some of the houses mid-way, they look overprocessed to me. This could also be because the original file was over compressed.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 08:37 PM   #6
Tgranville
Senior Member
 
Tgranville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Tgranville Send a message via Yahoo to Tgranville
Default

Ill have to look when i get home, but i use a nikon d40x, and i think it was somewhere in the range of 2.4mb
__________________
"Never argue with a stupid person. They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

My RP.net Photos

My Flickr Photos
Tgranville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 09:04 PM   #7
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgranville
Ill have to look when i get home, but i use a nikon d40x, and i think it was somewhere in the range of 2.4mb
Great camera... that means you've got a lot of image to work with.

See what mb sixe this one was just before you resized the dimensions. Maybe it was a compression issue.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 12:44 AM   #8
Chicago Railfan
Senior Member
 
Chicago Railfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chi-Town subarbs
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to Chicago Railfan Send a message via Yahoo to Chicago Railfan
Default

That picture almost is perfect! The edges of the engine do look a little "strange" but otherwise their is no reason of rejection of this picture. But, if you had to do something. Sharpen up the whole picture, then soften or dull the nost and sides of the first engine.
Chicago Railfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 04:04 AM   #9
Crusader
Senior Member
 
Crusader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philly
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgranville
I appealed it and asked what they were saying was oversharpened. The screener said that the edges where the locomotive meets the background, etc was jagged. ill try to fix it and resubmit it.
Sounds like you got the hangin' judge.
__________________
View my photos on RP.net
Crusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 04:23 AM   #10
Warren
Senior Member
 
Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 287
Send a message via MSN to Warren
Default

It looks like it needs a slight clockwise rotation and to be sharpened.
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Click Here to view my videos at rail-videos.net
My webshots photos
Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 04:40 AM   #11
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,842
Default

I went with a slight clockwise rotation and sharpened, and it still doesn't look spot on. EXIF data says a shutter speed of 1/640, and an F of 8, so I think the shot is just out of focus..

Loyd L.
__________________
Those who seek glory, must also seek infamy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 04:34 PM   #12
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

I agree, looks like a focus issue to me, which is a shame, that photo's pretty darn nice otherwise.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 10:50 PM   #13
Greg P
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 1,003
Send a message via AIM to Greg P
Default

Do you shoot in JPEG or RAW mode?

Shooting RAW just gives you so many more options for editing in the computer. The files are much bigger though.
Greg P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 11:44 PM   #14
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg P
Do you shoot in JPEG or RAW mode?

Shooting RAW just gives you so many more options for editing in the computer. The files are much bigger though.
Good general advice, but raw cannot assist with sharpness issues.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 12:34 AM   #15
M.L.Gabert
Senior Member
 
M.L.Gabert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: State of Confusion
Posts: 121
Thumbs up

Looks a little soft in the upper half, but other than that IMO it's great shot.
M.L.Gabert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 06:35 PM   #16
Tgranville
Senior Member
 
Tgranville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Tgranville Send a message via Yahoo to Tgranville
Default

I tried again. went with a shot a few seconds before the ones that got rejected and this was the result

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...=206291&nseq=0

Thank you for the help.

Tom
__________________
"Never argue with a stupid person. They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

My RP.net Photos

My Flickr Photos
Tgranville is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.