Old 11-28-2007, 03:46 AM   #1
trainboysd40

Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default Decisions: 40D or 5D MkII?

Now, I may be a complete n00b when it comes to DSLRs, but as some will say I'm a pretty good photographer with loads of technical knowledge that goes to waste.
Problem is, I'm having trouble deciding whether it's worth going straight to a full sensor cam (And waiting until the MkII comes out next year...) or if I should stick with a prosumer 1.6x.
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 06:00 AM   #2
WKUrailfan

The 40D basically takes 5D files. Yes, full frame is nice, but with a wide angle lens, you can have practically the same pictures as with a 5D.

If you went with the 40D, you would essentially have a 5D for half the price and double the frame-rate. No need to wait for the rumored 5D MarkII, unless you plan doing top-notch proffessional work, you dont need 9 frames a second, or 16 megapixel files.

Just my 3 cents.
WKUrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 11:27 AM   #3
Joe the Photog

If you can afford the 5D and the full frame sensor, it would almost be foolish not to get it, in my opinion.

Joe
Old 11-28-2007, 02:10 PM   #4
JRMDC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe the Photog
If you can afford the 5D and the full frame sensor, it would almost be foolish not to get it, in my opinion.
That's a pretty strong opinion! What exactly do you think one gets for that extra money? Just because one can afford the top stuff doesn't mean it's good value.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 02:17 PM   #5
Joe the Photog