Old 11-06-2003, 11:39 PM   #1
nevardmedia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Weybridge, UK
Posts: 9
Default File size

Hi all,

Even though I haven't had the chance to take a any rail pictures for a few weeks now, I am very much enjoying looking at everybody's superb photography.

Something I note when uploading images is that the file size generally doubles once onto the Railpictures server. I presume this is a result of copying the uploaded file with minimum compression so the copyright strap can be added to the base of each image with little or no image loss?

Uploads over the last few days have been a little less gready byte wize without sacrificing image quality.

Just curious that's all!

Cheers

Chris
__________________
Chris Nevard
http://www.nevard.com/railway/
nevardmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 01:46 AM   #2
Chris Starnes
Administrator
 
Chris Starnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 927
Default

There shouldn't be any image loss (unless it is over 1024px wide) when you upload it. If it is over 1024 pixels wide, our software will resize it down to 1024, which may result in some image loss.

Thanks,
Chris
__________________
Chris Starnes
Co-Editor, RailPictures.net
Chris Starnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.