Old 01-09-2005, 10:00 AM   #26
VRE Man
Member
 
VRE Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, Va
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to VRE Man Send a message via Yahoo to VRE Man
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brunswickrailfan
CD's wont last forever. JPEG's will be around for a while--CD's wont. They cant last forever, but technology will exist that will stor stuff on a new media. Kinda like when CD-burners came out...we junked our floppies! I haven't used a floppy drive in 2 years!
I recently switched from CD's to DVD's for storage. Much, much better IMPO,
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!


Click Here to view my aircraft photos at JetPhotos.Net!
VRE Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 10:11 AM   #27
VRE Man
Member
 
VRE Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, Va
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to VRE Man Send a message via Yahoo to VRE Man
Default Re: Digital Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtrails
I feel like an idiot. I am still new to digital cameras, and I said I had a 50mp camera. It's a Gateway DC-T50, and I decided to verify it's MP with the owner's manual... it's only 5.25mp. No wonder I dislike the photo quality! I was told last year when I bought it, that it was the best digital camera on the market and this was the highest MP available. The pictues are pretty huge, upwards of 2560x1920 pixels. I usually have it set for 1280x960, which results in a file size up to 800kb. It is very hard to crop and reduce the photos into 800x600 resolution and not lose the photo content, and/or image quality.

This is a very interesting statement. You have not found an image you like yet?

Perhaps it is because you are shooting at that 1280x960 Ratio, If anything you should be shooting at the highest Mega-Pixels your camera offers.

Chris Kilroy (At least he did) & I have/had the same Sony F717 Cybershot Camera. I always shoot at the highest level, it may take a way from storage/or number of photos you can shoot but it really has a substancial impact on the quality of your photo.

Also what are you saving those Pictures as or uploading them as I must Ask? JPG ETC? I use TIFF Format now & convert as needed. If you edit a photo & save as a JPeg as I remember it you lose data little by little. (Refresher here please!)

Take Care,

JB
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!


Click Here to view my aircraft photos at JetPhotos.Net!
VRE Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 10:11 AM   #28
VRE Man
Member
 
VRE Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, Va
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to VRE Man Send a message via Yahoo to VRE Man
Default Re: Digital Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtrails
I feel like an idiot. I am still new to digital cameras, and I said I had a 50mp camera. It's a Gateway DC-T50, and I decided to verify it's MP with the owner's manual... it's only 5.25mp. No wonder I dislike the photo quality! I was told last year when I bought it, that it was the best digital camera on the market and this was the highest MP available. The pictues are pretty huge, upwards of 2560x1920 pixels. I usually have it set for 1280x960, which results in a file size up to 800kb. It is very hard to crop and reduce the photos into 800x600 resolution and not lose the photo content, and/or image quality.

This is a very interesting statement. You have not found an image you like yet?

Perhaps it is because you are shooting at that 1280x960 Ratio, If anything you should be shooting at the highest Mega-Pixels your camera offers.

Chris Kilroy (At least he did) & I have/had the same Sony F717 Cybershot Camera. I always shoot at the highest level, it may take a way from storage/or number of photos you can shoot but it really has a substancial impact on the quality of your photo.

Also what are you saving those Pictures as or uploading them as I must Ask? JPG ETC? I use TIFF Format now & convert as needed. If you edit a photo & save as a JPeg as I remember it you lose data little by little. (Refresher here please!)

Take Care,

JB
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!


Click Here to view my aircraft photos at JetPhotos.Net!
VRE Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 10:12 AM   #29
VRE Man
Member
 
VRE Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Manassas, Va
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to VRE Man Send a message via Yahoo to VRE Man
Default Re: Digital Photography

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtrails
I feel like an idiot. I am still new to digital cameras, and I said I had a 50mp camera. It's a Gateway DC-T50, and I decided to verify it's MP with the owner's manual... it's only 5.25mp. No wonder I dislike the photo quality! I was told last year when I bought it, that it was the best digital camera on the market and this was the highest MP available. The pictues are pretty huge, upwards of 2560x1920 pixels. I usually have it set for 1280x960, which results in a file size up to 800kb. It is very hard to crop and reduce the photos into 800x600 resolution and not lose the photo content, and/or image quality.

This is a very interesting statement. You have not found an image you like yet?

Perhaps it is because you are shooting at that 1280x960 Ratio, If anything you should be shooting at the highest Mega-Pixels your camera offers.

Chris Kilroy (At least he did) & I have/had the same Sony F717 Cybershot Camera. I always shoot at the highest level, it may take a way from storage/or number of photos you can shoot but it really has a substancial impact on the quality of your photo.

Also what are you saving those Pictures as or uploading them as I must Ask? JPG ETC? I use TIFF Format now & convert as needed. If you edit a photo & save as a JPeg as I remember it you lose data little by little. (Refresher here please!)

Take Care,

JB
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!


Click Here to view my aircraft photos at JetPhotos.Net!
VRE Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 06:33 PM   #30
boxtop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: East Chicago, Indiana
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to boxtop Send a message via Yahoo to boxtop
Default

"5.25mp is more or less middle of the road now. I just got (today!!) a cannon 20D..it produces 8.2mp in raw or JPG high mode, and I believe (and correct if me if im wrong) that is the highest MP currently available"

Canon 1Ds Mark II, 16.6Mp. Read all about it:

http://robgalbraith.com/bins/multi_p...id=7-6459-7231

There are medium format digital backs that go higher than this.
__________________
Sincerely,
Guy
boxtop566@aol.com
boxtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 04:23 PM   #31
Cell0518
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Meridian MS
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Cell0518 Send a message via MSN to Cell0518 Send a message via Yahoo to Cell0518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boxtop
Canon 1Ds Mark II, 16.6Mp. Read all about it:

There are medium format digital backs that go higher than this.
Yea, I was gonna say, there is THAT camera. (DROOL). dpreviews has some pics from it. They are HUGE!!

Any idea of the exact size on the Medium format digs?

Chris
__________________
Cell0518
Cell0518 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.