Old 12-19-2006, 01:09 AM   #1
B.Erdmann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default change photo quality w/out retaking picture

help me please,



the screeners rejected 3 of my photos for having poor quality? i think its ok but if they think its bad i guess it is. can some one help me heres a photo that was rejected.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2006_1203wcstpoint0062.JPG (115.0 KB, 281 views)
B.Erdmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 02:22 AM   #2
becker
Louis Becker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Erdmann
help me please,



the screeners rejected 3 of my photos for having poor quality? i think its ok but if they think its bad i guess it is. can some one help me heres a photo that was rejected.
It really should have been hit for poor lighting/cloudy rather than poor quality. It also looks a tad bit unlevel. Try taking the picture again on the sun side and it should work a bit better.

Note too that it looks like you have sized the image down since submitting it so that makes it difficult to determine whether or not the quality is poor.

~Louis Becker
becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 12:28 AM   #3
B.Erdmann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

well i did makei t larger but shrunk it down,


who knows if i will se these units again i live a hour from stevens point & dont have time to go their eveyrday so thats why i want to know if i can change the quality w/out retaking it
B.Erdmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 12:41 AM   #4
Frederick
Senior Member
 
Frederick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hastings, Minnesota
Posts: 594
Default

It isn't possible to add detail to photos.
__________________
Railpics Photos

Flickr Account
Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 03:31 PM   #5
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Default

Always take pictures on the maximum quality setting on your camera (RAW files are preferable if your camera has the facility). Also never adjust the original, make a copy and work from that.
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 09:59 PM   #6
B.Erdmann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Default

what would be the best quality for my camera


i have a 4.1 mega pixel

qualities

4M F

4M N

3:2

2M

1M

03M

i used 03M for them pics
B.Erdmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 01:23 AM   #7
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

For a start, read the owner's manual. That'll give you an idea on which of those options will give you the maximum image size/resolution...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:44 AM   #8
alan-crotty
Senior Member
 
alan-crotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashford Kent England
Posts: 349
Default Quality

Best quality is best,

I don't know which camera you have but...

4M F, means 4 mega pixels Fine quality, that's the best your camera will produce, unless there's a RAW setting you haven't mentioned.

As Ween has said, read the manual, become familiar with your camera so that using it is second nature, experiment, see which setting give you the results you like.

But most importantly get out there and take some phots.

Alan
alan-crotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:12 AM   #9
alan-crotty
Senior Member
 
alan-crotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashford Kent England
Posts: 349
Default Quality 2

I just downloaded your phot and checked out the file info.

Seems you have a Fuji Finepix A345 which has a 4Mp capability.

http://www.cameras.co.uk/details/fuji-finepix-a345.cfm

http://www.cameras.co.uk/specs/fuji-finepix-a345.cfm

The links above give a review of your camera, you will see that the shutter lag is around 1/2 sec don't expect too much if you try for moving subjects.

You chose to use the lowest quality that your camera can produce 03M.

Produces only a 640x480 image, the top setting would give you a 2,304 x 1,728 image.

As I said above try using the best quality, then re size down for railpics

Also I see you used an ISO of 64, the conditions appear a little dull for such a low setting, this will have caused you to use a wide aperture f3.8, results in lower quality, and a low shutter speed 1/100 second, may allow a bit of camera shake?

I see, unfortunately that the A345 gives you no control over shooting apertures and/or shutter speeds, except that one of the modes is 'Sport', I suspect that this will give you the benefit of the camera choosing a higher shutter speed for you. Setting a higher ISO, say 200 will also encourage the camera to set a higher shutter speed smaller aperture combination. The downside is that the image quality will suffer if too higher ISO (400) is used?

As I have already said, experiment at different settings by snapping cars or lorries in various conditions near home, get to know what gives you best results before you go out taking rail phots again.

That will give you the opportunity for success!

Alan
alan-crotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:29 AM   #10
alan-crotty
Senior Member
 
alan-crotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashford Kent England
Posts: 349
Default Straight From Camera or Via Image Editor

Do you use any type of image editor after taking your shots?

Whilst your shot will never be a great railphot it can be improved.

First the camera must be held straight so the loco is square in the phot.

I've left a white edge to show how far out of square you were.

Next adjust the levels and saturation.

Then a touch of sharpening.

BTW I looked at some of your other rejections, there appears to be a problem with your lens, grease spot or finger print on the glass.

Needs a clean (carefully) that alone will improve you image quality.

I think Andrew advised you to look at the thousands of shots on this site and learn.

That's sound advice, from this you will get a much better idea of good composition.

Also, checkout other reject threads on this forum, there are a lot of very good snappers out there always happy to give advice, we only learn from seeking out solutions to problems.

Alan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Modded 2006_1203wcstpoint0062.jpg (389.1 KB, 155 views)

Last edited by alan-crotty; 01-03-2007 at 11:43 AM. Reason: added line to explain white edge.
alan-crotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.