Old 01-19-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
pderekh
Senior Member
 
pderekh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 433
Default How do I fix Bad Contrast?

I've been focusing on the plow as the area of low contrast, but is it the covered walkway? How much contrast do I need to add or is it just not there for RP standards?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=795636880
pderekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 12:49 PM   #2
asis80
Senior Member
 
asis80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 1,458
Send a message via AIM to asis80
Default

The contrast, to me, actually looks fine. The snow might be messing with the screeners eyes. If you have PS, use levels. Very nice tool. If anything, add just a smidget of contrast to make it on the site, but to my eyes it looks fine. But I'm not a screener . Good luck!

Ben
__________________
Trains.
asis80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 01:39 PM   #3
milwman
I shoot what I like
 
milwman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cedar Fall's, Iowa
Posts: 2,474
Send a message via Yahoo to milwman
Default

Yeah I Like it the way it is.
__________________
Richard Scott Marsh I go by Scott long story

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22299476@N05/
milwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 01:59 PM   #4
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,985
Question

When I look at it on my Mac, it looks like a normal snowy, low contrast scene.

When I grabbed it and open in PS, PS gives it more contrast. Which I don't think looks good.

On my set up, there obviously is some color management issue. (Adobe vs rgb maybe?)

Possibly it is working in reverse with the screener's screen?
__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 02:08 PM   #5
cblaz
Senior Member
 
cblaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Marlboro, New Jersey
Posts: 1,007
Default

Looks like there was a bit of shadow/highlight recovery, with no corresponding contrast adjustment, giving it that flat look.

- Chris
__________________
- Christopher Blaszczyk
My shots on RP: http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=284
cblaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 02:22 PM   #6
pderekh
Senior Member
 
pderekh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cblaz View Post
Looks like there was a bit of shadow/highlight recovery, with no corresponding contrast adjustment, giving it that flat look.

- Chris
the original as shot is fairly bright, I did do shadows/highlights (wish PSE would allow you to see the value of the adjustment)and then some contrast. Should I try to process as shot and ignore shadows/highlights and contrast?
pderekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 03:53 PM   #7
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pderekh View Post
the original as shot is fairly bright, I did do shadows/highlights (wish PSE would allow you to see the value of the adjustment)and then some contrast. Should I try to process as shot and ignore shadows/highlights and contrast?
I am not sure what you mean by "see the value of the adjustment" but you should always have your histogram window open (in PSE 3, Window / Histogram) and changes appear there.

In my view your shot has little black. I opened up Levels, moved the left slider from 0 to 16 (and moved the right slider from 255 to 244). I could have also just increased contrast, I think.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2856b.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	222.4 KB
ID:	5075  
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:26 PM   #8
pderekh
Senior Member
 
pderekh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 433
Default

wow! that did it 311300 Thanks Janusz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
I am not sure what you mean by "see the value of the adjustment" .
for instance, after adjusting color saturation by 25 and clicking "OK" you can visually "see" the change on screen, but you can't go back to see the value you entered was 25, you can only undo the change and re-adjust. I'm using PSE 7.0
pderekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:33 PM   #9
crazytiger
Senior Member
 
crazytiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NS Greenville District
Posts: 1,473
Default

Image © Paul Hoffmann
PhotoID: 311300
Photograph © Paul Hoffmann
__________________
Peter Lewis | Portfolio | Profile | Flickr | Facebook

Canon EOS 40D
Canon EF 50 f/1.8 II
Canon EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM
Canon EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM


Quote:
Originally Posted by A Friend
everytime i see non-train photos of yours i think, "so much talent. wasted on trains."
crazytiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:38 PM   #10
pderekh
Senior Member
 
pderekh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 433
Default

wow! that did it 311300 Thanks Janusz!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRMDC View Post
I am not sure what you mean by "see the value of the adjustment" .
for instance, after adjusting color saturation by 25 and clicking "OK" you can visually "see" the change on screen, but you can't go back to see the value you entered was 25, you can only undo the change and re-adjust. I'm using PSE 7.0
pderekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 05:39 PM   #11
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pderekh View Post
for instance, after adjusting color saturation by 25 and clicking "OK" you can visually "see" the change on screen, but you can't go back to see the value you entered was 25, you can only undo the change and re-adjust. I'm using PSE 7.0
you are welcome

can't you leave the saturation menu open and click "preview" on/off?
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.