Old 05-08-2011, 03:42 AM   #1
AKeth

Default How to Fix Image Quality?

Hello Everybody.

I'm new to the whole forum thing, so please bear with me.
I have a quick question on image quality. I have a DSLR (Nikon), and have gotten photos on Railpictures, but how would I be able to fix the overall image quality if needed?

Here is a link to an example:

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...d=926802&key=0

Let me know if you can't view the photo.

Thank you!
-Alex
AKeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 03:48 AM   #2
NorfolkSouthernC40-8

Send a message via AIM to NorfolkSouthernC40-8

Hey Alex, welcome to the forums.

I do not really see a significant problem with image quality so I can not really provide any input there. However, that tank car seems to be taking a lot away from the lead locomotives. If you were to resubmit the screeners would more than likely ding you with obstructing objects.

"Well wake her ass up, we gotta' win tomorrow!"
NorfolkSouthernC40-8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 04:01 AM   #3
troy12n
Banned

Dont shoot at F4.5 for a scene like that would be my first suggestion.

According to your exif, you are shooting 1/1000 at f4.5 ISO100.

Shoot at f8 or f7.1, 1/640 at ISO400 or something thereabouts. Shooting at f4.5 you can see out of focus foreground (not really OOF, but ugly bokeh) which is not desirable in this instance.

I dont know why they called this PIQ, I would have thrown a different rejection like cropping, composition, soft or some other of the many rejections they could have other than PIQ.

I have no idea about the technical capabilities of your camera, as I dont shoot Nikon, but I assume you can get a decent shot at ISO400.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 04:03 AM   #4
AKeth

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Dont shoot at F4.5 for a scene like that would be my first suggestion.

According to your exif, you are shooting 1/1000 at f4.5 ISO100.