Old 10-09-2007, 05:18 AM   #1
Freericks
Met Fan

Default Dropped ditchlight question

Recently I was railfanning and photographing a train while about five other railfans were also shooting the same train. Most of us had just met moments before.

As the train came close enough to shoot, he dropped his ditch lights. I thought, "what a nice guy... those ditch lights always screw up my meter."

Someone else believed he did it to mess up the picture, so it wouldn't look like a moving train... and to mess with us.

I'm just curious what others on this list think. I still liked the shot I got, and because it was back lit, it won't be posted anywhere anyway. Just really curious, was this anonymous engineer being nice or being nasty?
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:28 AM   #2
Mustang11

If I am correct (and I am not an engineer or a railroad employee so please do correct me if I am wrong) the ditch lights are usually turned on after the horn is sounded and remain on for about 60 secs or so. So could it have been possible they just shut off automatically as he approached?

Brian

My RailPictures.net Photos -- My fotopic.net Photos
Graphic Design & Photography portfolio site
Mustang11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 06:01 AM   #3
Mike B.
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang11
If I am correct (and I am not an engineer or a railroad employee so please do correct me if I am wrong) the ditch lights are usually turned on after the horn is sounded and remain on for about 60 secs or so. So could it have been possible they just shut off automatically as he approached?
I've never heard of that happening. At night the engineer will often dim the headlights when they are meeting another train.

My bet is that the engineer did it to piss you FRNs off.
Mike B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 06:29 AM   #4
Chris Kilroy
Administrator

Send a message via ICQ to Chris Kilroy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang11