Old 11-11-2009, 03:23 AM   #1
GMEMD
Member
 
GMEMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 88
Default Recording processing information

I know there has been some threads on organzing/storing photos, but I'm just wondering how some of you guys keep records of your processing steps. Is there certain programs that some like to use (excel, word etc) or are there people that keep a log book. I'm trying to get my self caught up and organized, but I need a better system, just trying to get some ideas.

Thanks
Taylor
GMEMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:26 AM   #2
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Processing steps? If I save it as a psd file all my layers would saved.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:31 AM   #3
GMEMD
Member
 
GMEMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Processing steps? If I save it as a psd file all my layers would saved.
So you leave the background alone, and each time you make a change you use a new layer?
GMEMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:31 AM   #4
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Processing steps? If I save it as a psd file all my layers would saved.
Ding Ding!
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:34 AM   #5
Chase55671
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
Chase55671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nitro, WV
Posts: 2,195
Send a message via AIM to Chase55671 Send a message via MSN to Chase55671
Default

Taylor,

I misread your post. I basically just keep track of different steps by typing them up in the default program, Notepad.

Chase
__________________
Chase Gunnoe
Railpictures.Net Crew
Rail-Videos.Net Crew
Click here to view my photos at Railpictures.Net
SLR Night Photography Tutorial | Railpictures.Net Beginners Guide
Chase55671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:34 AM   #6
ottergoose
American Gunzel
 
ottergoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 1,626
Send a message via AIM to ottergoose Send a message via Yahoo to ottergoose
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMEMD View Post
So you leave the background alone, and each time you make a change you use a new layer?
If uploading here, you ought to have at least three different versions of your photos:

1 - RAW from the camera

2 - PSD (or other native format file for your image editor) file at full resolution, uncropped, and uncompressed. Changes to brightness, saturation, contrast and the like should all be made with adjustment layers so you can easily tinker with one without impacting the other.

3 - JPG - Cropped, leveled, sharpened, and resized for the web.
__________________
Nick Benson | Pictures | Website | Flickr | Profile | JetPhotos | Twitter
ottergoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:39 AM   #7
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GMEMD View Post
So you leave the background alone, and each time you make a change you use a new layer?
Every adjustment is on a layer.

I only save psd files for photos I have a ton of time into otherwise I just redo them. Once you get a hang of what you want on a basic shot it doesn't take long especially since you did it once already.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 12:43 PM   #8
railfanzone
Senior Member
 
railfanzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lebanon, CT USA
Posts: 174
Default

I use Lightroom 2, which records a history of all the changes I've made to a particular photo, so all I save is the RAW, and LR maintains the adjustments. I can even do snapshots of different adjustments. So if I wanted both a black & white and color version of the same shot, I do my adjustments for B&W and take a snapshot. Then I revert back to the original RAW, do my color work and take another snapshot. One click and I can apply either set of adjustments, and I don't have to save 2 extra (large) files. It's all in the LR database.

Now that LR has the Graduated Filter and Adjustment Brush tools, I do 99.9% of my work in Lightroom, so I don't have to save a separate PSD - pretty much the only thing I use CS2 for is printing and sharpening for the web (more control than in LR). As close to one-stop-shopping as I can get...
__________________
Tom Nanos
www.NanosPhoto.com - New England Rail Photography
My Rail Photo Blog


Flickr stuff - http://www.flickr.com/photos/nanosphoto/
My Railpictures.net Photos
My published photo portfolio
My one photo on JetPhotos.net
railfanzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 02:07 PM   #9
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,102
Default

Taylor,

I also have 3 versions of the shots I've processed. I have the original NEF (raw) files, the finished TIFFs, and a resized, resharpened JPEG for web applications. I do keep a written logbook on all of the details of the changes I've made, particularly when I've done selective, vs global changes. If you don't have a program that will record all of that stuff for you, keeping a log is a really good idea.
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Albums from Steam Railroads all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 02:55 PM   #10
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

What is the log for? Why do you spend the extra time to document what you did to a photo?
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:12 PM   #11
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
What is the log for? Why do you spend the extra time to document what you did to a photo?
I use PSE 6, which does not record (or at least not that I can tell) all of the changes that I make to a file, only the basic stuff before the raw conversion. Occasionally, I will want to go back and rework files as I get better at postprocessing. The log gives me a baseline, in that it tells me exactly what I did the last time I worked on a file. Also, some changes are detail things like selective adjustments to elements in the picture, removal of artifacts (dust, falling cinders, railfans etc. ). I need to remember what I did to the original and what tools were used.
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Albums from Steam Railroads all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:14 PM   #12
Dennis A. Livesey
Senior Member
 
Dennis A. Livesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,986
Default

Using pen and paper?

How quaint!

__________________
Dennis

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777
Dennis A. Livesey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 03:38 PM   #13
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

As I learn more post processing techniques and get better I usually just start from scratch. I get better results that way. If I have some complex masks and a ton of adjustments I will then save a psd file but that isn't often.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 04:15 PM   #14
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis A. Livesey View Post
Using pen and paper?

How quaint!


.....And, I still use paper charts in an airplane....vs one of these newfangled $2,000+ "electronic flight bags" that seem to be so popular.

I've never had the batteries run out in my paper charts. Also, if I should accidentally drop them on the ramp, I merely pick them up and stuff them back in my pubs bag.
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Albums from Steam Railroads all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 08:01 PM   #15
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Every adjustment is on a layer.
This.

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
What is the log for? Why do you spend the extra time to document what you did to a photo?
And this.
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 08:29 PM   #16
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

Lost me Jim.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 04:29 AM   #17
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

I have a full res jpeg of every file I spend more than 30 seconds on, after RAW. Most of the stuff I do is in RAW, though. sidecar XMP FTW.
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 08:13 PM   #18
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,850
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by travsirocz View Post
Lost me Jim.
Lost you how?

I was agreeing with you. Instead of saying "I agree," I said "this"...as in, "I agree with this."
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 08:26 PM   #19
travsirocz
Senior Member
 
travsirocz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Posts: 2,459
Send a message via AIM to travsirocz
Default

I thought that but I also thought other things as well.
travsirocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.