Old 02-13-2006, 02:30 PM   #1
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Default Resolution Help

This photo was rejected for Scan Quality, try scanning at a higer resolution. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=213727 I scanned that photo at 200 dpi. Then, in an attempt to correct the problem I raised the resoultion to 1500 dpi, but there was no noticable difference in the image quality. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=213762 How high do I need to raise the resolution to fix the image quality?
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 01:47 AM   #2
ddavies
Senior Member
 
ddavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 381
Default

It appears that the problem is not the scan resolution, but the quality of the image itself.

Remember that no matter what resolution you scan at, the final product (image sent to RP) is the same, in the area of a 1 megapixel image. 1024x768 or 800x600, so they should look similar in final form. 200dpi is good enough if you were csanning an 8x10 print, but not if you are scanning a slide (dpi x dimension = pixels).

Have you done unsharp masking of the image?
ddavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 02:19 AM   #3
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Default

Thanks for your reply, you explaned it. Strangely enough, I didn't scan this image at all, it came off a digital camera. I tryed submitting a version that was less sharpened but it still got rejected for poor image quality. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=214062 I don't think it is half bad...what do you think? I think I might appeal, but I don't know what to appeal for.
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 03:11 AM   #4
Chris Kilroy
Administrator
 
Chris Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Kilroy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
Thanks for your reply, you explaned it. Strangely enough, I didn't scan this image at all, it came off a digital camera. I tryed submitting a version that was less sharpened but it still got rejected for poor image quality. http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=214062 I don't think it is half bad...what do you think? I think I might appeal, but I don't know what to appeal for.
The photo mentioned is nicely composed, but simply too blurry. Not sure how it ended up so blurry, but I'd love to see the EXIF data to see if I can tell what went wrong.
__________________
Chris Kilroy
Editor, RailPictures.Net
- View My Photos at RailPictures.Net!
- View My Photos at JetPhotos.Net!
Chris Kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 03:17 AM   #5
Aaron
Senior Member
 
Aaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 96
Send a message via MSN to Aaron
Default

THE EXIF Data too me does not really make a lot of sense... Like I can figure out the type of camera used shutter speed and ISO rating, but I dont understand a lot of the rest. Could somone explain it to me better
__________________
Aaron

Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
Aaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 03:51 AM   #6
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kilroy
The photo mentioned is nicely composed, but simply too blurry. Not sure how it ended up so blurry, but I'd love to see the EXIF data to see if I can tell what went wrong.
This is what I was able to find:

Maker: Nikon
Model: E3200
Exif Version: 0220
Shot Time: 2006:02:12 15:27:09
Digitize Time: 2006:02:12 15:27:09
Compress Rate: 2.0 bits/pixel
F Number: 5.6
Focal Length: 5.80mm
ISO Speed Rate: ISO50
Flash: Flash Used
Light Source: Auto
Exposure Program: Normal

Hope this helps...Chris, do you think if I sharpened the photo a hair, it would have a better chance of being accepted?
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!

Last edited by bnsf sammy; 02-14-2006 at 04:01 AM.
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 07:31 AM   #7
Chris Kilroy
Administrator
 
Chris Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Kilroy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bnsf sammy
Hope this helps...Chris, do you think if I sharpened the photo a hair, it would have a better chance of being accepted?
The photo is blurry, not soft. Softness (except for in extreme cases) can be resolved with sharpening, but not blur. As you work more with digital photography, you'll be able to tell the difference between the two -- and it's very hard to describe in words.

A very important piece of information missing in the EXIF data you've posted is the shutter speed, although I can't imagine at f/5.6 and ISO 50 that it was too high. To me, the shot looks like it was taken at a fairly low shutter speed, and you weren't perfectly still, resulting in image blur.

I'm also concerned about the "Compress Rate: 2.0 bits/pixel" entry. I don't know exactly what that means, but if it means your camera is compressing photos as it takes them, you need to find out how to disable that feature.. ASAP!
__________________
Chris Kilroy
Editor, RailPictures.Net
- View My Photos at RailPictures.Net!
- View My Photos at JetPhotos.Net!
Chris Kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 07:35 AM   #8
Chris Kilroy
Administrator
 
Chris Kilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Chris Kilroy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron
THE EXIF Data too me does not really make a lot of sense... Like I can figure out the type of camera used shutter speed and ISO rating, but I dont understand a lot of the rest. Could somone explain it to me better
That's exactly the info I wanted to see.. to see if maybe a low shutter speed, etc. caused the blur issue on Sammy's photo.
__________________
Chris Kilroy
Editor, RailPictures.Net
- View My Photos at RailPictures.Net!
- View My Photos at JetPhotos.Net!
Chris Kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 03:29 PM   #9
ericb
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 52
Default

Something ain't right.. The EXIF data also says the flash fired. There should be no reason to use a flash in this situation. I'd try to turn the flash off for starters...

Also, The white halo along the top edge of the cab roof tells me it's been over sharpened.
__________________
"http://ex-railfan.blogspot.com "

Last edited by ericb; 02-14-2006 at 03:31 PM.
ericb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2006, 07:37 PM   #10
bnsf sammy
Senior Member
 
bnsf sammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 638
Default

I really don't know how to manually control my camera, it isn't one of those fancy ones, just a small digiatal camera that really wasn't made for railfanning. The shutter speed is automatic and is only fast enough to catch trains that are moving less than like 30-40mph. Thanks for the help everyone.

Chris, I don't know either what that compress thing means, let alone disabeling it. Since I wasn't using a tripod, there is a good chance that I did move at the last second before the shot was taken.
__________________
BNSF SAMMY
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
bnsf sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.