Old 05-22-2007, 05:19 AM   #1
SD70MACMAN
The man with the plan
 
SD70MACMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edmonds, Washington
Posts: 375
Send a message via AIM to SD70MACMAN
Default LCD monitor

Im using an LCD monitor to do all my photo editing on. The color re-creation is pretty good, or so I thought. Are the shots below, and some of my others as well, too dark? I looked at my pics for the first time on a well-adjusted CRT for over a year and a lot of them look dark.

Some random samples that looked dark on the CRT:
Image © Mike Bjork
PhotoID: 187731
Photograph © Mike Bjork

Image © Mike Bjork
PhotoID: 187660
Photograph © Mike Bjork

Image © Mike Bjork
PhotoID: 180264
Photograph © Mike Bjork


Im wondering if I might need to adjust my LCDs. Thanks!
__________________
~Mike Bjork

UP's new slogan for Amtrak:
"We'll help you spread you wings and fly right into a siding!"

TRAINS TRAINS TRAINS!!! May the fun never end!
I'm a traitor! Im on JP.net! But all my plane shots involve trains!

BN FOREVER!

Last edited by SD70MACMAN; 05-22-2007 at 05:21 AM.
SD70MACMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:25 AM   #2
ssw9662
Senior Member
 
ssw9662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 839
Default

They look fine on my monitor.
__________________
Austin
Canon EOS 7D
Canon 70-200mm f/4 L
Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
Canon 50mm f/1.8
My Railpictures.net Photos
flickr
ssw9662 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:32 AM   #3
Studogg120
Senior Member
 
Studogg120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Couldn't tell you. My iMac has a built in LCD monitor.
Studogg120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 06:19 PM   #4
PLEzero
Senior Member
 
PLEzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 675
Default

My NVIDIA control panel is set pretty well on my laptop and those 3 photos appear to be a bit dark. Just my personal preference though.
__________________
Brad Morocco
Candyland, PA
My Flickr Photos
My RP.net Photos
PLEzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 02:16 AM   #5
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Thumbs up

They look OK on here (this monitor is on the light side though)

But there is obviously not much wrong with this......

Image © Mike Bjork
PhotoID: 187731
Photograph © Mike Bjork


Congrats!
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 06:47 AM   #6
John West
Senior Curmudgeon
 
John West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mill Valley, CA
Posts: 1,081
Default

I use two "monitors", both are LCD. I do my Photoshop work on a Mac 18 inch monitor. Most every thing else is done on a high end Toshiba Tecra PC lap top.

The Mac monitor is by far the brightest and best for picture viewing. As I understand it, the Mac's have higher contrast as configured out of the factory for whatever reason.....but I like it. I love watching my pix on the Mac. The Toshiba PC is okay, but lacks the contrast of the Mac. When I post pix I try to adjust them to look good on both monitors.

I have looked at your pix on both monitors and they look good. Better on the Mac but fine on the PC.

But when I travel I look at my stuff on various hotel computers, and the variations are tremendous. Clearly monitors vary greatly. I know some people who have whole websites of pictures that to me look washed out. I can only assume that they have " dark" monitors and the washed out look is what looks normal on their monitor.

As best as I can figure out, monitor calibration is a huge variable in how well posted images look.

John West
John West is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 06:54 AM   #7
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

JP has a neat feature when you upload that shows a white-to-black graduated scale that is a quick check to see if your monitor is somewhat calibrated.

Wonder if that's a feature that'll work its way over here?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 08:47 PM   #8
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default

If you use Adobe Photoshop (CS or above, I believe), there's a neat little program in your Control Panel called "Adobe Gamma" that helps to calibrate your monitor.

Ween, you mean something like this?
http://epaperpress.com/monitorcal/
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 10:17 PM   #9
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclonetrain
Ween, you mean something like this?
http://epaperpress.com/monitorcal/
Yep, but it's either on the upload screen or right after you upload your shots there that show it, I can't quite remember...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 03:02 AM   #10
SD70MACMAN
The man with the plan
 
SD70MACMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Edmonds, Washington
Posts: 375
Send a message via AIM to SD70MACMAN
Default

Thanks gents! Took that little monitor test and looks like things are just fine. I was getting some underexposed rejections when they looked fine to me and that too sorta made me curious.
__________________
~Mike Bjork

UP's new slogan for Amtrak:
"We'll help you spread you wings and fly right into a siding!"

TRAINS TRAINS TRAINS!!! May the fun never end!
I'm a traitor! Im on JP.net! But all my plane shots involve trains!

BN FOREVER!
SD70MACMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.