Old 05-07-2007, 06:51 PM   #1
conrail_8123

Default Photo Rejection

Hello All,

I am new in the digtal world and I have some questions about taking digital photos. I am using a Cannon Digital Rebel XT with a 28mm to 105 mm lens.

I am wondering if someone would be able to suggest what are good eposures for sunny and cloudy weather. I am guessing that iso 100 or iso 200 would be used for sunny weather and iso 400 on cloudy days. But what would be a good enough exposure that they will accept my photos. I have been using iso 200 @ F8 1/500 for my pictures.

Also can someone explain to me what soft means in the digtal world? Most of my pictures are rejected for being soft.

Can someone also tell me why the attached photo was rejected for being dirty. Maybe my eyesight is going. The picture looks fiine to me.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1970.JPG (211.2 KB, 199 views)
conrail_8123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 07:20 PM   #2
Bill

On sunny days, my setting are generally around the "Sunny 16" rule. F16 & a shutter speed that matches your ISO (usually 200 for both). It's an old habit from my film days & I find it's still practical with digital.

Soft means your images are lacking clarity.

Your image is dirty because of the big dust spot in the sky. You probably have dust on your sensor...I'd recommend a blower of some sort.

Good luck...
Bill
Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 07:42 PM   #3
a231pacific

The smudge above the second unit is dust on the sensor. Do not blow on it or use dust off. Either use a digital sensor cleaning swab, or hold the unit with the sensor facing down and use a squeeze bulb to gently blow on it. Otherwise take it to a dealer and have them clean it for you.

Then try not to change lenses outside if you can help it.