Old 05-10-2007, 01:36 PM   #1
conrail_8123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 14
Default Rejection again

Hello all,

I have some more questions relating to the picture I posted on the site the other day. I fixed it to where I thought it was good enough. Now it appears that I have over done something.

Too Much Noise/Grain: Noise is the digital equivalent of grain.
- Overprocessed: The photo appears to suffer from either excessive use of a grain removal tool, leading to a washed out oil-painted look, or overuse of the shadow/highlight tool in Photoshop, which can give the image a 'fake' appearance and create halos around darker objects.

Can fix the picture or did I damage it beyond correction.

I am sorry if my questions bother any of you. I still have no real idea of how too finish a digital image.

Thanks again for any help.

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NYSW_jpg_67707.jpg (235.0 KB, 150 views)
conrail_8123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 02:25 PM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

General comments:

I don't see noise, nor do I see overprocessing. I do see an image that is rather blurry, especially the second and third units. Yet it doesn't look like the ground is too badly out of focus. It's puzzling.

However!! there is something really wierd in the sky above the second unit. As though someone damaged part of a print before scanning it. I don't actually know how that might have been done, but I do see it.


Specific comment:
Quote:
Originally Posted by conrail_8123
Can fix the picture or did I damage it beyond correction.
You should never process an original picture! Always save changes to a new file. Then, if you muck up the old one, the original is not damaged and you simply start over.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots

Last edited by JRMDC; 05-10-2007 at 02:30 PM.
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 02:29 PM   #3
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Second opinion

The sky looks pretty blotchy. Not sure if you did that in processing or not. that maybe what the "too noisy" reason refers to. (Or, that comes up only in the compressed version you posted here. Again, as soon as you can figure it out, link to the rejection!) Also, the sides of the engines are OK in the black areas, but the yellow parts don't look good. Maybe the yellow channel is oversaturated (or maybe it's oversaturated overall).
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots

Last edited by JRMDC; 05-10-2007 at 02:34 PM.
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 03:07 PM   #4
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

From the first thread about this shot, that smeary blotch above the second unit it an attempt to remove a dust spot. It looks like the Blur Tool was used rather than the Clone Stamp tool...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 03:36 PM   #5
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

Look at Christine's sharpened version of your shot that she posted in your previous thread. Your shot should look like that. You probably set your radius and percentages too high. I understand you are using arcsoft and I'm not familiar with the settings, but I would use the lowest settings possible for everything except the one that shows percentage. Try various percentages until you get a sharper image, but with no grain in the sky. I'm guesssing this will be between 50% and 100%, depending on the size of the original file.

NEVER, NEVER process an original image! Make a copy and work on it. Then if you screw it up, you just delete it and make another copy. Once you've overdone and saved an original file, it's pretty much shot.

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 08:32 PM   #6
Carl Becker
Senior Member
 
Carl Becker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a231pacific
NEVER, NEVER process an original image! Make a copy and work on it. Then if you screw it up, you just delete it and make another copy. Once you've overdone and saved an original file, it's pretty much shot.
And it's as easy as 1-2-3: right-click the image, click "copy", hide the screen, and paste it on the desktop. Then, when the shot gets online, move the processed copy into a folder for processed photos. Leave the original copy alone in its original folder.

To prevent duplicate uploads to sites other than RP.net, there is a folder for each site individually, one for RP.net, one for RRPictureArchives.net, and so on.
__________________
- My photos at RailPictures.net
- My videos at Rail-Videos.net

Last edited by Carl Becker; 05-10-2007 at 08:32 PM. Reason: Missing Details
Carl Becker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.