Old 01-09-2017, 05:01 PM   #1
GoDogGo

Default Dusk Photo Advice

I think I know the answer to this one, but I'm still learning these things and it helps my learning process to get independent confirmation. I submitted one version of this photo awhile back, and it was rejected for too dark; I brightened it a little and submitted this one, but it again was rejected for too dark. I'm guessing I can't get it bright enough to get through the screening, but wanted to put it out there and see if there's any hope. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_MG_4578.mod3.rp.jpg
Views:	236
Size:	1.18 MB
ID:	9347  
Old 01-09-2017, 05:58 PM   #2
spacetrain1983

First off, the gate is slightly obstructing the plow. As a general rule, if anything is obstructing the front of the locomotive, it probably won't make it. And the train is cut off at left. Looks like you could've gotten a better shot from the other side of the road.

EDIT: Also, the lead unit appears to be quite centered, which generally leads to a "Rule of Thirds" rejection.
Old 01-26-2017, 04:09 PM   #3
GoDogGo

I think my suspicions were confirmed by the minimal comments (thanks, though, spacetrain1983) and I've moved on from this one. I confess, though, that I like the coloring and earth shadow in the original shot.
Old 01-26-2017, 05:10 PM   #4
miningcamper1

Maybe a more photogenic location would have worked...

RP Photos: www.railpictures.net/miningcamper1/
miningcamper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 08:36 PM   #5
KevinM

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoDogGo View Post