Old 01-16-2013, 08:19 PM   #1
Kevin B.

Default Equipment question - Replacing Canon Kit Lens

Hello all. Here's another "which lens" question.

I am looking to replace the 18-55 IS kit lens on my T3i. I am not a pro, but my photography interests range all the way from trains (of course), to portraits, to some indoor shots, and just family vacation pics. The kit lens works OK, and produces acceptable results most of the time, but I would like something with more capabilities.

I have narrowed my choices down to the EF-S 15-85mm f3.5-5.6, and the EF-S 17-55mm f2.8. I like the extra reach of the 15-85, but I don't like the fact that it has a slow, variable aperture. However, it is also hard to swallow the price tag of the 17-55 even though it has a fast and constant 2.8. Anybody else been in this boat? Which one would you choose?

Thanks for any input.

Last edited by Kevin B.; 01-16-2013 at 11:22 PM.
Kevin B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:21 PM   #2
Joe the Photog

Don't get a Sigman 17 to 700 mm lens whatever you do. It replaced my kit lens and nowI'm looking to replace it which puts me in the same boat as you. If you have a second lens with a longer reach, you may want to consider the one I'm thinking about -- the Canon 17 to 40 mm.
Old 01-17-2013, 02:24 AM   #3
JimThias

24-105 for the win!
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:38 AM   #4
Dennis A. Livesey

My vote is for the 17-55 f/2.8 which is a L lens in disguise as far as sharpness is concerned. The constant 2.8 is invaluable if you shoot at low light.

I think myself that while a 24-105 is excellent on a full frame, it is too tight on a APS-C camera like the T3i.

I Foam Therefore I Am.

My pix on RailPics:

I am on Flickr as well:

"Dennis is such a God, he could do that with a camera obscura and some homemade acetate." Holloran Grade

"To me it looks drawn in in Paintshop. It looks like a puddle of orange on the sky." SFO777