Old 07-27-2007, 03:35 AM   #1
E-diddy!

Default Complete Noob here

I've been doing the aviation photography thing for quite some time and I screen photos over on Jetphotos, being that I've lived very near to a rail yard for almost a year, and there's a track heading into it that runs within a hundred yards of my apartment, I was wondering really how you guys know when a train is coming...or do you just sit there and wait for it? I'm not really game for just sitting and waiting because lets face it, I look bad enough standing by the runway, the train tracks seems a little, well, odd (no offence ).
E-diddy! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 03:38 AM   #2
Ween

Welcome to the forums here. Most of us use a scanner and can hear trains and dispatchers talking so that gives a head's up. Otherwise, looking online or talking to other railfans you can find alot of info on when certain trains run not to mention befriending someone in the industry who can help out...
Old 07-27-2007, 03:43 AM   #3
bigbassloyd

Scanner is my best friend!

On most occasions, I don't leave the vehicle until I hear something calling the block I'm in

Loyd L.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 03:59 AM   #4
E-diddy!

Holy crap there's somebody else in grand forks...

Well I'm just north of campus about to head down to the railyard right now, I just stand just outside the rail property on campus and UPD has never cared about me being there, as far as scanners go, I have one thats like an all-purpose scanner, what frequency band do the trains use?
E-diddy! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2007, 04:07 AM   #5
Slopes09

Send a message via AIM to Slopes09

Welcome to the world of railfanning! Please be sure to leave your sanity by the door after entering...

No, seriously, here are a couple links:
http://www2.fwi.com/~rrradioman/freqs.html
http://zippy.ci.uiuc.edu/~roma/rr-freqs/index-old.html