Old 07-24-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default noise about noise

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...61&key=7341270
i keep getting rejections for noise... and honestly, I really don't see it... am I blind, ignorant, or something?
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:43 PM   #2
magicman_841
Senior Member
 
magicman_841's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 1,024
Default

The sky is quite noisy.

What ISO was this shot at?
__________________
Mathieu Tremblay
Choo photos
magicman_841 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:25 PM   #3
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicman_841 View Post
The sky is quite noisy.

What ISO was this shot at?
I see the same here. EXIF says ISO 200. Odd amount of noise on a sunny day.

That usually comes from underexposing it too much, but the settings don't appear to have resulted in an underexposed shot.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 11:21 PM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Oversharpened - distinct white halo line around the top of the cab. That can also enhance defects in the sky.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 02:07 AM   #5
Cyclonetrain
Senior Member
 
Cyclonetrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 359
Send a message via AIM to Cyclonetrain Send a message via Yahoo to Cyclonetrain
Default

looking at it on my desktop instead of my laptop, i see it now. and yeah, I see that halo line too. I guess uploading photos on my dim old mac has drawbacks. thanks for the help guys
Cyclonetrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.