Old 07-10-2009, 04:50 AM   #1
william1977
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default software

well Kevin it sounds like you where trying to help. so I'm sorry for saying that dos anyone know what software is good for editing pictures? I run windows vista and once more sorry Kevin and I live in northern NJ and I hang out at the csx Bergen sub dos not seem like any trains running at all at times

Last edited by william1977; 07-10-2009 at 05:30 AM.
william1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 02:13 PM   #2
EMTRailfan
Senior Member
 
EMTRailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: I can be found railfanning the abandoned B&O Northern Sub.
Posts: 1,454
Default

There are freebies on the Net if you're wanting to go that route. I use Gimp: www.gimp.org. There are also a ton of tutorials for it if you run a Google search. You may want to do that first to sorta get a preview at what it is/how it is set up, etc.
__________________
A Picture Is Worth 1000 Words. A Memory Is Worth 1000 Pictures.
EMTRailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 01:39 AM   #3
william1977
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

thanks emt
william1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 02:42 AM   #4
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

people like Picasa by Google, you should check that out also. No personal experience with it, sorry.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:37 PM   #5
william1977
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Default

I'm looking for something to compress the pictures, sorry i should have been more specific
i think Railpictures will only take 100mb or less, or can that be done in the OS ?
william1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 04:10 PM   #6
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

I believe everything discussed here does the compression. The size limit is 1mb, not 100mb, of course, and no image comes out of the camera at that size anyway (maybe a Phase1 medium format digital back file?).
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 12:28 AM   #7
Chase55671
RailPictures.Net Crew
 
Chase55671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nitro, WV
Posts: 2,194
Send a message via AIM to Chase55671 Send a message via MSN to Chase55671
Default

Once you resize the image, it cuts down on it's size. Of course, RP.net does have certain size requirements that you will have to follow in order to avoid getting a rejection.

Chase
__________________
Chase Gunnoe
Railpictures.Net Crew
Rail-Videos.Net Crew
Click here to view my photos at Railpictures.Net
SLR Night Photography Tutorial | Railpictures.Net Beginners Guide
Chase55671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.