Old 01-16-2005, 01:10 AM   #1
billblum832
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Question re: Bad Cropping

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=83629

"Bad Cropping" was the rationale given....

Problem is, that's nearly the full original frame-- only a small bit was cropped from the right-hand side because of the junk car that was sitting there..


Suggestions would be welcomed.
__________________
--
Bill Blum
Springfield, Ohio
billblum832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 03:51 AM   #2
Chris Starnes
Administrator
 
Chris Starnes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 927
Default

Bill,

I do not see a huge issue with the cropping of that shot. I do see the image as being soft (undersharpened) and somewhat grainy. Maybe try a re-scan.

Thanks
__________________
Chris Starnes
Co-Editor, RailPictures.net
Chris Starnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:09 AM   #3
billblum832
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Can't do much about the grain, it was Kodachrome 200, which tends towards golfball sized grains in my experience.


I'll try a rescan on a different scanner, as I'm stuck with a flatbed+transparancy adapter at the moment.

Thanks for the comment.
__________________
--
Bill Blum
Springfield, Ohio
billblum832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 06:38 AM   #4
julioeddie
Junior Member
 
julioeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default BAD MOTIVE

What do means BAD MOTIVE ?
julioeddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 08:48 AM   #5
billblum832
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default Well, 2nd try and 3rd try got rejected

2nd try: rescanned, cleaned it up a bit....
--
Reason for Rejection: needs to be closer to 1024x768 or 800x600...thanks!
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=83846
--

"Hmmmm," he thinks, "maybe I'm nearly there...."

3rd try: back into rescanning, paint shop pro...
adjusted the crop a bit.
---
Reason for Rejection: Too much grain
http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=83859
---

Oh well....

No way to capture some of this stuff on gray gloomy days without high speed film, and dealing with the ensuing grain. ( for the record, the guy next to me that day had his Nikon F4 freeze up. )
__________________
--
Bill Blum
Springfield, Ohio
billblum832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 09:36 AM   #6
cmherndon
Banned
 
cmherndon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 883
Send a message via AIM to cmherndon Send a message via Yahoo to cmherndon
Default

Bill, try using NeatImage to get rid of any grain/noise in your shots. You'd be surprised at the results. I use it every now and then and it works wonders for shots that have too much grain. You can download the program for FREE at www.neatimage.com
cmherndon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 03:51 PM   #7
billblum832
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyrailfan
Bill, try using NeatImage to get rid of any grain/noise in your shots.
Thanks for the link....

After calibration, I gave it a whirl--- and it got totally thrown off by the flying snow in the 3rd image.
__________________
--
Bill Blum
Springfield, Ohio
billblum832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.