Old 01-05-2008, 07:30 PM   #1
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default Too much noise

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...&key=242831262
As the title says, this was rejected for too much noise. The only thing done in post processing was to resize and a little bump in the saturation. is it salvageable?

Dave
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 07:40 PM   #2
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Was that taken with your XT? It's insanely noisy in the sky...I'm guessing you could try to Neat Image it, but I'd be more concerned over what caused all that noise...
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:07 PM   #3
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default

That was taken with the XT, thats why I'm a little bit concerned. I see what you are talking about with the sky. I'm hoping its a problem with my editing and not with my camera.
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:50 PM   #4
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,042
Default

What was the ISO? If you had it up at 800 or 1600 that would be expected.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 08:57 PM   #5
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default

I just checked my camera and it was shot at 400. It was also a raw file converted to jpeg.
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 10:00 PM   #6
Ween
Senior Member
 
Ween's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,861
Default

Quote:
It was also a raw file converted to jpeg.
What program did you use to convert it?
__________________
Ween is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 11:16 PM   #7
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default

the cannon software that came with the camera. The Digital Photo Professional program.
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 11:54 PM   #8
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devil 505
the cannon software that came with the camera. The Digital Photo Professional program.
That's what I use, too. Did you do some lightening of the photo? Sometimes if the exposure is dark, the higher ISO's really get exposed when you bump up the levels in photoshop.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 12:42 AM   #9
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default

No, just a bump in the saturation.
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 01:05 AM   #10
Switched out
Senior Member
 
Switched out's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 396
Default

Check the level of sharpening that has been applied, as the ISO gets higher the more likely the sharpening feature of the software package will mistake noise as detail that should be enhanced. I think this is what has happened to your picture Dave.

Christine.
Switched out is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 01:07 AM   #11
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Switched out
Check the level of sharpening that has been applied, as the ISO gets higher the more likely the sharpening feature of the software package will mistake noise as detail that should be enhanced. I think this is what has happened to your picture Dave.

Christine.
Thanks, I'll give that a shot.
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 02:44 AM   #12
John Ryan
Senior Member
 
John Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 497
Send a message via AIM to John Ryan
Default

Yikes! That doesn't look right!

I think the noise that we're seeing is part of the general total oversharpening. It would be interesting to take a look at the original RAW file.
John Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 05:21 AM   #13
Chicago Railfan
Senior Member
 
Chicago Railfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chi-Town subarbs
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to Chicago Railfan Send a message via Yahoo to Chicago Railfan
Default

It is to far, it is to sharp, and due to it being to sharp, it is to grainy too. Or, your ISO was just set to high.
Chicago Railfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2008, 04:25 PM   #14
Joey Bowman
Senior Member
 
Joey Bowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 358
Default

400 ISO on the XT does get a little noisy at times, plus the fact that it looks over sharpened.
Joey Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 12:10 AM   #15
Bicot
Junior Member
 
Bicot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 15
Default

I'd go with the software used to sharpen the picture; there's no way you'd have that much noise at ISO 400 from a DSLR unless you cropped like hell
__________________
Don't worry, we'll never make it alive!

Bicot (Marc Caya)
Bicot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 02:55 AM   #16
Devil 505
Member
 
Devil 505's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Landing, New Jersey
Posts: 87
Default

That's what I'm confused about. I didn't sharpen the picture at all and I cropped just a little from the right side to get it to the correct aspect ratio. The pic got canned for underexposed, too much compression and too much noise again so I'll let it go.
__________________
Here are my pics at RP.NET
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=7478
Devil 505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 03:16 AM   #17
John Ryan
Senior Member
 
John Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 497
Send a message via AIM to John Ryan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Devil 505
That's what I'm confused about. I didn't sharpen the picture at all and I cropped just a little from the right side to get it to the correct aspect ratio. The pic got canned for underexposed, too much compression and too much noise again so I'll let it go.
I'm very curious about this issue. If you'd care to, kindly email me your original RAW file. Me email address is the same as my AIM screen name listed in my profile on this forum.
John Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2008, 04:44 AM   #18
John Ryan
Senior Member
 
John Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
Posts: 497
Send a message via AIM to John Ryan
Default

Dave,

The good news is that there isn't a single thing wrong with your camera or your RAW file. I opened up the shot and it was as smooth as any Canon ISO 400 shot that I've ever seen.

That leads me to believe that there is some sort of setting (sharpening, etc.) in your RAW conversion software that is set somewhere it shouldn't be. Digital Photo Professional is somewhat questionable. I got it with my camera, and used it only until Photoshop came out with an update that supported the files generated by my camera. At the very least, I'd suggest you play around with the settings in DPP. Remember, it's a RAW file; you can't break it. If that doesn't work, I'd look into a different RAW conversion program.

John Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.