Old 03-24-2008, 04:30 AM   #1
Damaged

Default Rochelle part one

http://www.rochellerailroadpark.org/index.html
Heres some quick linkage the park.Edit
Thought I would take this time to write a little essay about my experiences down at the Diamonds of Rochelle.
I started railfanning late last summer because I wanted to look at track details for scenery and such for my friends HO layout.
I live North of Rockford so Rochelle is only 40 minutes from my driveway. I take 251 straight down to 38 west to the park. Watch for Illinois' finest as they do set up for speeders in this corridor,(State and Rochelle) particularly near the jct of 251 and 64. Beautiful drive never any traffic. All the major traffic is on interstate 39.

It seems posters here either love or hate the place. As a noob I love it as the volume of trains gives me lots of opportunities for shots. To everyone that says its a boring place to shoot I think you are only limited by your imaginations.
To those that say theres too many people in the way, get in your car and drive half a mile or so west (on 38 still) out by the Global intermodal yard you will pretty much be left alone unless you try to climb the fence or something stupid. Or come during the week when the volume of people is down and the volume of trains is up.
On the weekends the place is usually packed and most everyone is pretty friendly. Although there are a few with personality disorders who probably wouldn't give you the time of day. My experiences with people down there have been 90% positive. Generally there are retired RR workers who are really a plethora of knowledge(or just BS as the case may be) and will talk your ear off if you let them.