Old 03-19-2007, 02:55 PM   #1
ddavies
Senior Member
 
ddavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 381
Default Too Dark?

I am using two new computers with bright screens, while this appears correct on my monitors, how does it appear to anyone else's?

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreject.php?id=350665
ddavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 03:08 PM   #2
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Dave, it looks dark to me but not inappropriately so. What I mean is that it may be an accurate representation of conditions and is processed correctly. It looks dark by the standards of RP acceptance. Just a bad day for getting shots.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2007, 04:27 PM   #3
Joe the Photog
Senior Member
 
Joe the Photog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 7,899
Default

I can't see the trucks on this monitor. But the one at home is a better judge for me.


Joe
__________________
Joe the Photog Dot Com
Joe the Photog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 10:39 AM   #4
alan-crotty
Senior Member
 
alan-crotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ashford Kent England
Posts: 349
Default Grey Scale

Hi David

You could always download our club's grey scale target

http://www.aqps.org.uk/targetgrey.htm


Ste you brightness and contrast so you can see all the squares.

Better still if you know someone with a Greytag Macbeth, or similar spectrometer have them calibrate your screen.

The target gives reasonable results though.

Alan
alan-crotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 11:53 AM   #5
WembYard
Senior Member
 
WembYard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 646
Default

TBH Dave, it does look dark; even on the monitor I am using at present which is on the bright side. It is a shame that the light was not better when you took the photograph, I hope that you get another chance.
WembYard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2007, 03:02 PM   #6
jason15c
Member
 
jason15c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 45
Default White = grey

Yes, it is definitely dark. The white areas on the loco are appearing slightly grey on my monitor, and the bogies are too dark. If you have Photoshop PS2, dont adjust the brightness of the image, tweak the shadow part of the shadow / highlight tool, and this should give a much better result.
I would suggest some form of calibration for your monitor though as suggested by Alan.

Jason
__________________
Jason Cross

http://www.15c.co.uk
jason15c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 06:04 AM   #7
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

Well that's a fine "Welcome Back Dave", huh?

It appears a bit underexposed to me, but then again, perhaps that is a result of the lighting at the time of the day. When RP has given me that reason I usually use PS and increase either the "exposure" or I'll go into "curves" and brighten only the whites. Oh, btw, on my monitor - which is calibrated, I can see plenty of truck detail.

Nice catch, haven't seen a "black goat" yet.

Looking forward to some more DD's!

/Mitch
Stop, look and comment!
Click Here to take a look at my photos on RP.
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 06:17 AM   #8
a231pacific
Senior Member
 
a231pacific's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 822
Default

Dave,

On my calibrated monitor you can see the truck detail. Since it's a black engine against white snow, the high contrast gives the illusion of overall darkness. What is technically correct and subjectively correct are not always the same.

Michael Allen
a231pacific is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 07:30 PM   #9
ddavies
Senior Member
 
ddavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 381
Default

Thanks, guys. I am not about to spend $500+ for a calibration tool, since the vast majority of my work is only seen on the web, and never goes to print.
ddavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 10:16 PM   #10
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Senior Member
 
Andrew Blaszczyk (2)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marlboro, NJ
Posts: 1,956
Send a message via AIM to Andrew Blaszczyk (2) Send a message via Yahoo to Andrew Blaszczyk (2)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgoldman
Looking forward to some more DD's!

/Mitch
LMAO!!! Me too.
__________________
-Andrew Blaszczyk a.k.a. AB(2)
Proud fan of the Sabres, Islanders, Rockies, and Lions.

"My camera is an artistic medium, not a tool of terrorism."

www.ab2photography.com Coming soon!
My photos on RailPictures:
http://www.railpictures.net/showphotos.php?userid=960
Andrew Blaszczyk (2) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 06:26 AM   #11
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddavies
Thanks, guys. I am not about to spend $500+ for a calibration tool, since the vast majority of my work is only seen on the web, and never goes to print.
Our loss...
Look up "Spyder" on Google, from the Pantone / Colorvision people.
They have a nice calibrator in several price ranges - I think mine was about $139 or so. Seems odd, but the software reminds me monthly to recalibrate which takes about 3 or 4 minutes. Funny how you get used to a poorly calibrated monitor.

/Mitch
Stop, look and comment!
Click Here to take a look at my photos on RP.
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2007, 06:02 PM   #12
ddavies
Senior Member
 
ddavies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 381
Default

Thanks. What I had seen was the Pro version, not the Spyder2.


Two hours later ... there is a MicroCenter about half a mile from me

Even better, the Spyder2Express is only $89. The suite has a print program that had a horrendous review at B&H. It said it was a dumbed down version of the pro system where you were never told what you were doing. And if you did know what you were doing, you couldn't make any changes anyway.

Both monitors are calibrated (unfortunately I would have to buy the pro system to calibrate the laptop's second monitor).

In the end, NS 100 does look a little dark in the trucks ... but then it is new gloss black.

Thanks for the input.

Last edited by ddavies; 03-23-2007 at 08:10 PM.
ddavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.