Old 08-08-2014, 02:49 AM   #1
SantaFebuff
Junior Member
 
SantaFebuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bourbonnais, Illinois
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to SantaFebuff Send a message via Skype™ to SantaFebuff
Default Yep, 1st Time Image Editing = No Go

http://www.railpictures.net/viewreje...14&key=8868573

Oops! I would like to know how badly I messed up on that one? (and saving of this one?)

Perhaps it has no saving grace, but in that case... how about some general techniques that are nice to know for a beginning image editor? I have Photoshop CS6.

Cheers,
Joshua
__________________
- Joshua Bauer
SantaFebuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 03:19 AM   #2
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

There's a lot of that going around these days on RP.

If it were consistently applied to the rest of the images in the database, I imagine it would be halved overnight.

I'm not seeing it - but again, I only have a 27" monitor. My guess is that others will tell you that it looks like it was taken with a cell phone - I don't see it.

I do see one RP classic "flaw", however - seems somewhat centered top to bottom.

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 03:19 AM   #3
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Maybe my eyes are going but I don't see the IQ issue. I do think the train is too centered (You could lose some sky).
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 03:20 AM   #4
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

I am NOT copying Mitch - we posted at the same time... we are brothers from different families and mothers (and political parities).
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 03:21 AM   #5
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

Look at the number boards, it's soft. That's the majority of your problem.

I think what you need to do is get yourself a drone, it's a ticket to free shots
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 03:38 AM   #6
Mberry
Senior Member
 
Mberry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 639
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
Look at the number boards, it's soft. That's the majority of your problem.

I think what you need to do is get yourself a drone, it's a ticket to free shots
When I looked at this, at first I didn't seen an image quality issue, but on second glance I also noticed the numberboards were a bit soft.
Mberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 05:41 AM   #7
SantaFebuff
Junior Member
 
SantaFebuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bourbonnais, Illinois
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to SantaFebuff Send a message via Skype™ to SantaFebuff
Default

Re-did the composition of the crop a bit and gave a tad more sharpening...

...and now that has become my first picture ever on RailPictures.net!

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...=492950&nseq=5

Thanks guys,
Josh
__________________
- Joshua Bauer
SantaFebuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 11:30 AM   #8
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Congrats!

Additional words to make the computer allow the post.
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 12:43 PM   #9
bigbassloyd
Senior Member
 
bigbassloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilldale, West Virginia
Posts: 3,734
Default

Mitch, all I can say is size doesn't matter.. lol

I've never owned a monitor larger than 17", but there has to be a resolution issue or something if you're not seeing rather obvious issues on that 27"

I should hook my laptop up through my living room TV and see if I start seeing differently.

Loyd L.
__________________
Social Media elevates the absurd and mediocre to a point where they aren't anymore, and that is a tragedy.

My personal photography site
bigbassloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 01:21 PM   #10
KevinM
Senior Member
 
KevinM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,008
Default

Hi Josh,

Are you shooting in one of the camera's automatic modes? I see on your EXIF that you were at 1/320th at f/9. Why not go 1/400th at f/8. When shooting trains, I rarely find a need for an aperture tighter than f/8, and once you're there, the more shutter speed you can get the lower the probability of a soft image. If those settings were selected by the camera, you might consider shooting manual exposure. Under most circumstances, when you have an opportunity for a test shot, manual is the best way to go. Even in situations where you have to shoot on the spur of the moment, if you have practiced shooting manual, you will likely be close enough on the exposure to be able to work with the shot in post.

Just a suggestion....
__________________
/Kevin

My RP stuff is here.

Link to my Flickr Albums. Lots of Steam Railroad stuff there from all over the US.
KevinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 02:13 PM   #11
SantaFebuff
Junior Member
 
SantaFebuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bourbonnais, Illinois
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to SantaFebuff Send a message via Skype™ to SantaFebuff
Default

Kevin,
I believe this is one of my earlier shots that I did have it on automatic. Usually I put it on manual or a speed-shutter mode where I get a faster shutter nowadays.

I also got this one in, although the shot was kind of given to my by the spot I was in.

http://www.railpictures.net/viewphot...=492967&nseq=0

Cheers,
Joshua
__________________
- Joshua Bauer
SantaFebuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 09:24 PM   #12
MagnumForce
Senior Member
 
MagnumForce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 602
Default

Looks like it was shot on a cell phone. Everything is really soft and not in a blurry or unfocused way.
__________________
-Brent Kneebush
Defiance, Ohio
MagnumForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 03:05 AM   #13
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks View Post
Congrats!

Additional words to make the computer allow the post.
..........
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 04:10 AM   #14
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbassloyd View Post
Mitch, all I can say is size doesn't matter.. lol

Loyd L.
Tell that to Jim - have you seen his lens shade!?!??

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 04:20 AM   #15
Freericks
Met Fan
 
Freericks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimThias View Post
..........
Bastard..............
Freericks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 05:48 AM   #16
SantaFebuff
Junior Member
 
SantaFebuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bourbonnais, Illinois
Posts: 21
Send a message via Yahoo to SantaFebuff Send a message via Skype™ to SantaFebuff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagnumForce View Post
Looks like it was shot on a cell phone. Everything is really soft and not in a blurry or unfocused way.
Using a Nikon D5100... I might have something set wrong?
__________________
- Joshua Bauer
SantaFebuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:11 AM   #17
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freericks View Post
Bastard..............
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:48 AM   #18
wds
Senior Member
 
wds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 793
Default

Joshua, the first thing I noticed about the rejected shot was massive amounts of haloing in the sky around the trees and locomotive roofline which isn't apparent in the accepted shot. I also thought the sky looked a bit noisy in both versions, but that could just be my eyes - sometimes I see it when it's not there, sometimes I don't when it is!
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
wds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 04:53 AM   #19
wds
Senior Member
 
wds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 793
Default

Geez, maybe I shouldn't have said "massive"! Looking at the shot for a third or fourth time, I'm hardly noticing it. I did mention my eyes could be not quite up to snuff, did I not?
__________________
Click Here to view my photos at RailPictures.Net!
wds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 05:50 AM   #20
JRMDC
Senior Member
 
JRMDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11,202
Default

Nope, you were right the first time, massive is a reasonable thing to say. Does not appear in the accepted version.
__________________
My RP pix are here.
My Flickr pix are here.

My commentaries on rail pictures are in my blog.

RP Photo Albums:
Cabooses
Engine Details
Farm and Train
Plumes!
Railroad Details
Signal Details
Switchstand Shots
JRMDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.