Old 12-17-2011, 03:17 AM   #1
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default Removing wires with Content Aware

Man, I wish I had CS5. For those who do have it and didn't know the trick for removing sagging wires, here's a quick video:

http://www.adobe.com/products/photos...nt-aware-fill1
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 04:11 AM   #2
troy12n
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,333
Default

They apparently dont like us doing that to our photos...

At any rate, depending on the photo, I have found the feature anywhere from really cool and good to useless. Depends on the scene and surroundings.
troy12n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 03:49 PM   #3
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troy12n View Post
They apparently dont like us doing that to our photos...
There are a lot of people who print their photos. If they don't want ugly wires in their prints, this is a good technique to remove them.

This is the digital processing section of the forum, right?
__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias

Last edited by JimThias; 12-17-2011 at 03:56 PM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 05:31 PM   #4
Indecline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 168
Default

The content aware fill feature works quite well. I've learned to do it in small bites and most of the time it removes what ever it is that I want gone.

DS
Indecline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:48 PM   #5
trainboysd40
Senior Member
 
trainboysd40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta on the CP Laggan Subdivision
Posts: 2,048
Send a message via MSN to trainboysd40
Default

I always did it with clone stamp and caution, but content aware just makes it faster.
Er...not that I'd ever do that in a submitted photo...no...
__________________
got a D5 IIi and now he doesnt afread fo 12800 iSO
Youtube (Model Railway, Vlogs, Tutorials, and prototype)
My Website
Obligatory link to shots on RP, HERE
trainboysd40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:01 PM   #6
Mgoldman
Senior Member
 
Mgoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,641
Default

One from Adobe's "Hidden Gems" series - what a novel idea for a web site.

Cool link - thanks for sharing.

/Mitch
Mgoldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 12:53 AM   #7
JimThias
Senior Member
 
JimThias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 9,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trainboysd40 View Post
I always did it with clone stamp and caution, but content aware just makes it faster.
Er...not that I'd ever do that in a submitted photo...no...
I removed all the wires for the print version of this:

Image © Jim Thias
PhotoID: 215846
Photograph © Jim Thias


Would have been nice to use CA in CS5 back then.

__________________
.
Rhymes with slice, rice and mice, and probably should be spelled like "Tice."

This pretty much sums it up: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Thias

Last edited by JimThias; 12-18-2011 at 12:57 AM.
JimThias is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.